We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Banff Centre
Save
You added The Banff Centre to your Saves list
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Located on Tunnel Mountain overlooking the Banff and the valley heading west is The Banff Centre. It has undergone major renovations in the past few years. Gone is the old Donald Cameron Hall to be replaced with the modern Kinnear Centre.
During our stay for a concert at Eric Harvey concert hall right in the centre, we stayed at the Professional Development Centre with a beautiful view of the valley. The room was comfortable and quiet.
The Three Ravens Restaurant and Wine Bar is located atop the Sally Borden building which is a short walk from the building we stayed in. My wife had the beef tenderloin steak and I the rabbit. Both were exquisitely done. There is also a buffet dining that looked as though it was a typical buffet (we did not participate). On the main floor of Kinnear is a more relaxed eating area open until 2 a.m. with quite good food, although more pub like in its menu - still good though.

Good skiing is nearby at three excellent hills. The town of Banff is only a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
11
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

It's a little hard to get around this cluster of buildings in the beautiful town of Banff.

Some buildings are in better shape than others, so I can only talk about the ones I've been inside. This complex is a conference center, theatre and hotel (and possibly more).

The hotel part I stayed in was not bad. A rather oddly laid out lobby, nice rooms with comfortable beds and sheets. Our room was simple and clean.

The conference center portion was quite new and half the rooms have a breath-taking view of the mountains.

We also had our meals there and for feeding around 150 people it was better than expected. We had a great breakfast buffet (waffles, bacon, etc) and decent hot lunch and dinner. It's not going to blow your mind, but definitely some of the best mass-produced meals I've had.

I didn't get a chance to see it myself, but I was told there was a pool and hottub on site as well.

Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Notes:

great staff
clean rooms
hard to navigate campus due to size and layout
parking can be tricky depending on how busy they are
10 minute walk into town
woodsy feel to the place
saw elk on campus once! awesome!
can't speak to value as it was a business trip and paid for.
FREE WIFI WITH NO PASSWORD BS! :)

PS - be sure to check out the hot springs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winona, mn
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Be it Mozart or Blue Rodeo, The Banff Centre is a location that offers it all. World-class events, accommodation, dining with incredible views. Always enjoy my time at The Banff Centre!

Room Tip: The PDC offers the most modern accommodation, but rooms in Lloyd Hall can be incredible value and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

The Banff Center is a huge complex a little distant from the city. There are many buildings to choose from.
The pool jacuzi and gym are way above any others available in hotels. There are of course many cultural events on the premises. Rooms are good. Restaurant good. We had a noisy heating unit of the next building opposite our window running 24 hrs a day.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

First of all, you need a map to get around the place (and I've been here before). Close parking is often full and the other available parking is not located convenient to the accommodations. When we finally found the registration desk, check in was simple, but we then had to go back to the parkade to get our suitcases!
My biggest pet peeve was the lack of air conditioning. Rooms had windows that opened, but no air conditioning. There was a small stand up fan that was old and noisy. There were 3 of us staying in the room, and only 2 towels.
We were there for a conference, with food included. Breakfast was great, but the family banquet was only okay. My daughter and I both chose to have steak, hers was undercooked throughout. Mine, well, after the chef touched it with his fingers to check how well done it was!! it wasn't as well done as he assessed.
I've stayed in the Banff and Canmore areas a lot and would recommend staying at another location. Other than the convenience of being on site for this conference, it was not worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main section are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banff Centre

Address: 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Centre, a globally respected institute for advanced training in the arts and leadership, located in the vibrant mountain destination of Banff, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, offers professional conference facilities and services for groups of up to 1,000 delegates. The Centre is a renowned site for Canadian and international business, government, research, scientific, and educational meetings. The Banff Centre’s inspirational setting and creative, educational environment provide the essential framework for productive learning and engagement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.