We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro -Good, Con- expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Squish Sandwich Cellar

Squish Sandwich Cellar
211 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4 , Canada
403 985 5000
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Canmore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pro -Good, Con- expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Pro - I have to say the sandwich I ordered Chicken, Bacon, Avocado - triple decker was very good - fresh with a good quantity of filling. Came with a little portion of chips, some coelslaw and a half pickle.
Con - Price point - too high for a sandwich (even with the extras) - $14.50 - I could have gone somewhere else and had a hot lunch for this or not much more - but wanted to try Squish as it had been recommended.
Tonnes of seating, only 3 other people in there when I was, then I was the lone patron at 12.45 on a weekday - not too promising for the future possibly!
Still a very nice sandwich

  • Visited December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Little Sandwich Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stumbled onto this little place, did not know that it existed. Cute atmosphere and although a little pricey, that sandwiches were generous size and delicious. We ordered one and shared it and were more than satisfied.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Montreal Smoked Meat almost as good as the real thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

This is casual dining, where you order at the counter (can get a beer too) and find a booth to sit in and the server brings your food when it's ready. I had the Montreal smoked meat sandwich with fries and cole slaw. It was good, but not as good as the real thing at Schwartzes or even Reubens in Montreal. I'd probably go back here though.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley, British Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quick service for soup, salads, wraps, muffins, etc.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Huge tuna baguette - unlike most "tuna salad" types. Soup of the day was excellent and the speedy service was unexpected. The door upstairs was open, so one must dress warmly for the wintery days.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Triple decker mmmm yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Triple decker is definitely a must try. Yes, it's big, but it's good! My favorite is to buy it to go, and eat it by the river when the weather's warm enough :) Their milkshake is sooo thick and good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squish Sandwich Cellar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Squish Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squish Sandwich Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.