We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squish Sandwich Cellar

Squish Sandwich Cellar
211 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4 , Canada
403 985 5000
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm not a huge sandwich person, but this was actually the best sandwich I've ever eaten. Each sandwich also comes with coleslaw, a pickle, and chips. If you order a milkshake, be prepared for a huge portion (I wish I had shared with someone! Couldn't finish it). The atmosphere in the restaurant is also surprisingly classy. I think this place will become a must-need stop for us while in Banff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The Montreal smoked meat is piled high and more tender then the fresh bread! Great variety. I could eat there several times a week. Wish they were open a little later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I go there when I crave for a big lunch. Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

You may think that $13.75 + GST for a sandwich is a little bit pricy. It comes with a whole size pickle, coleslow, a little bit of potato chips on side, and their sandwich is huge! Be ready to stretch your jaw. Or, you can share with your firend if you are light eater. It is made fresh - not like pre-maid and palced in a window-case. So...? maybe the price make sense? As a consumer, it would be much nicer and reasonable if the price includes a drink. Still, I enjoy what I pay for. My favorite so far is Triple Decker. I have heard several people liked Montreal Smoked Meat - lots of smoked meat and very thick sandwich.

Everytime I go there, it is busy, whick is good. Because the place is downstairs, if you think it is too dark (no window) to eat in, take out and eat at a picnic table in the park or beside Bow River while enjoying wonderful mountain views!

As a local, this is one of places that I wish them success in business for a long-run.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great sandwichs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The best sandwich in the area!!! you get what you pay for! all fresh toppings and great bread. will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stopped in here for a bite to eat while in Banff. The sandwiches are fresh and tasty. I believe they smoke their own meat. Prices seemed high, but maybe that's what you get in a tourist town.

I would have given them five "circles" on tripadvisor, but it's not stroller friendly. That's kind of difficult to change, but they could easily install changing tables in the washrooms, which would also be nice. (Hint, hint to the owners.)

Regardless, we enjoyed our lunch there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squish Sandwich Cellar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Squish Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squish Sandwich Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.