We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Squish Sandwich Cellar

Squish Sandwich Cellar
211 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4 , Canada
403 985 5000
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Canadian
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The gentleman that served us (I think it may have been the owner) was very lovely and the milkshake he recommended was delicious!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Found this place by accident - just wanted a little something. At $13.75 for a sandwich, I though that was a bit expensive. That said.... its Banff, so I guess that is expected. Anyway, the $13.75 is for a meal, the portions are so generous! The Triple is fabulous, and the Montreal Smoked Meat - is authentic! Yummy. At first the woman at the counter didn't seem very friendly; a bit gruff or at least unenthusiastic - almost as if taking our order was a major inconvenience! When I said that maybe we should go elsewhere, her real and very friendly personality came shining through! She told us about the delicious ingredients of the sandwiches, started to kid around with her employees, and now seemed genuinely happy to have us come to her establishment! As she said, "there are 100 other places you could go to eat, but we have the best sandwiches!". Other reviews have mentioned she is a bit gruff, but give her a chance, and I know she will make you feel as welcome as she made us feel! Try it out - hopefully there will be enough seating because that is in a bit of short supply, but the food is fresh and delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Sandwiches $11 - $15 and worth every penny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had the Montreal Smoked Meat... tender brisket and much better than "M.S.M" I had in Ontario. Also had the prawn sandwich without the horseradish sauce. Their sandwiches are worth the money and have premium ingredients. It's down some stairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pretty expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Paying top dollar for take out sandwiches with potatoe chips. Good sandwiches but poor value. Could go to other places and sit in for the same price>

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I just discovered this place last month and now I can't stop going back! Best montreal smoked meat I've ever had. May cost a couple more $ than subway, but worth every penny. AND they serve beer!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squish Sandwich Cellar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Squish Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squish Sandwich Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.