We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squish Sandwich Cellar

Squish Sandwich Cellar
211 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4 , Canada
403 985 5000
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Lac La Biche, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We were a little hesitant after seeing the prices but the sandwiches were great! The server made sure we were happy and that our little guy even got his own bread and ice cream free of charge. We'd go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a good find, a sandwich shop on the main street in Banff. Good prices for big wraps and very friendly service. We took ours away for out walk. Only downside is that it didn't open early enough in the morning to buy another one for our onward journey!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Cold Cut Above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

While in Banff on business I needed a quick but hearty bite to eat. This was my first time at Squish Sandwich Cellar and I was impressed. I ordered the Smoked Salmon on Marble Rye and it was excellent. Very fresh, lots of Salmon and some interesting veggies such as bell pepper, along with the expected capers and red onion. Lots of cream cheese and a crunch dill pickle.

The only downside - the service. The cashier/order taker was distracted with some scruffy dude who hung around chatting at the cash register while I was ordering and afterwards - no-one asked him to step back so that customers could order without interrupting their conversation. I also asked for her recommendation between the smoked salmon and tuna - she said "I don't know what to tell you, I don't like either." REALLY??? Who's doing the staff training there?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One Awesome Sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by the owner as we walked in, who explained each menu choice to us before taking our order. He was very friendly and brought us a meat sample as we waited. He was very accomidating and superb customer service! The food was wonderful and perfect size portions! Will definitely be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Finally, a great place for lunch in Banff. Not fancy, not a fast-food restaurant chain, just simple, fresh made sandwiches that are delicious. The decor is simple, the staff friendly and the owner is out front with the guests to make sure everyone is happy. I guess there are other items on the menu like soups, but I didn't get past #1 - Montreal Smoked Meat Sandwich with chips and coleslaw. The sandwich was hot, fresh and well-stuffed with smoked meat - a two-fisted sandwich.

At $13 for the sandwich, a little pricey but not unreasonable in a high-priced tourist destination like Banff.

Definitely a place that will get my repeat business when I'm in Banff at lunchtime.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squish Sandwich Cellar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Squish Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squish Sandwich Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.