We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw a grizzly bear on course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Springs Golf Course

Banff Springs Golf Course
Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-6801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Attractions in Banff
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Designed by the late Stanley Thompson, this challenging 6,729-yard, 27-hole course offers scenic thrills and golf challenges throughout its "Stanley Thompson 18" and "The Tunnel 9" courses.
Wiarton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Saw a grizzly bear on course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We golfed in the economy 9 hole course. Ok but be prepared to pay. The wildlife on course was worth to high fees.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A great view of the course and a most enjoyable lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had been told by friends that we had to take a look at this fabulous course so we did and thought why not have lunch at the same time so we did.
Brandon looked after us really well and served the drinks and our meal which were most enjoyable. The views of the surrounding area are impressive with snow capped mountains and the Bow river plus a number of fairways and greens so well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Beautiful and challenging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The golf course is definitely one to play when in Banff. We started with a breakfast at the club house then enjoyed a round of golf on this challenging course with many bunkers! The water in and around the course was beautifully used.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sad State of Banff Springs Tunnel 9”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wife and I had a couple of hours to get in some golf at this world class golf resort. What a waste of time, money and nature's gift of a setting.
This is at best a poor version of a forgotten municipal golf course.
I apologize to any and all city courses for I have played some amazing golf under municipal rule.
To con newbies into thinking you might be playing a 9 hole version of Banffs'
18 hole championship classic and charge a fee of $100.00.
"Robbery on the High Greens".
You should be ashamed. Nature has given you a spectacular setting which you have laid ruin. I'm sure your designers never thought their work would be allowed to fall into such disrepair. Sent

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“golf with the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We paid $230 for two of us on a promotion for perhaps the greatest golf ing day of my life. Each hole is surrounded by beautiful trees and has views of the Canadian rockies. There is heavy bunkering on every hole and the sand is truly penal, being both heavy and soft and difficult to get out of(for me). The greens were running fast but not super lightning and they were very fair. The entire course is a very fair test of golf. Given that there are at least half a dozen holes I will always remember(and I have played Pebble Beach, St Andrew, Carnoustie, and many others, I call this one of the great golfing times of my life. The greens fees are steep, and this is a negative, but if you have $230 to throw away(or $110 x 2 golfers with a promo from the Fairmont Banff Springs), I recommend this to all golfers who enjoy experiences they will remember for a long time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Springs Golf Course also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Springs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Springs Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.