We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Springs Golf Course

Banff Springs Golf Course
Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-6801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 54 Activities in Banff
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the late Stanley Thompson, this challenging 6,729-yard, 27-hole course offers scenic thrills and golf challenges throughout its "Stanley Thompson 18" and "The Tunnel 9" courses.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
225 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Loved this course. I have played it a couple of times now with my dad and always have a great time. It's one of those beautiful courses that you could play again and again. If you are in the area, and are a golfer, definitely check it out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    45
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is one golf course you want to try. I admit it is not the cheapest but well worth the money. You are playing in between mountains, you might even se some wild life, not other golfers but elk, deer, and maybe even a bear. Amazing course also, it was originally built by Stanley Thompson in 1914. On course you don't want to miss, also good quality clubs are available to rent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty Grounds, Nice For A Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We walked through the grounds a couple of times, hoping to see the elk and also because it is a nice walk. There were no elk, but plenty of elk poo further on! But for the most part it is really nice scenery. We did see a couple of squirrels and a white weasel, which you could barely see with snowy background, but he was cute all the same!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just a marvelous golf experience in the mountains and the tranquility of being there.....would go anytime again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Golf was the last thing on my mind...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wildlife....that is the only reason I drove into the Banff Springs Golf Course at 430 on a Saturday afternoon. After driving from Seattle and seeing next to no wildlife, we were told that we would be guaranteed elk at least. And they werent wrong! 15 to 20 lazing on the fairway of one particular hole allowed some zoom photography and right at the end of the drive we came across 10 deer grazing in an open field. The course itself looks beautiful and it makes a terrific spot to view some locals. So it's all good!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Springs Golf Course also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Springs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Springs Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.