We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it, great shape and amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Springs Golf Course

Banff Springs Golf Course
Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-6801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 attractions in Banff
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Designed by the late Stanley Thompson, this challenging 6,729-yard, 27-hole course offers scenic thrills and golf challenges throughout its "Stanley Thompson 18" and "The Tunnel 9" courses.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it, great shape and amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Legendary golf course...a must experience for golfers. The greens ran great, very good shape. Only problems were some Elk hoof damage, but I guess that's just part of the experience.

I played the tips as the course isn't terribly long. If you can swing it I recommend playing back there otherwise (at least for me) I would have hit a lot of irons off the box. As it was I only hit an iron off the tee once on the par 4+.

Well worth the effort and money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“9 hole course, super quick greens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Quick greens but watch out for lots of Elk Rutts and droppings. They like it here as much a the golfers!
Greens greater than 10.6 on the stump meeter.
Stunning setting though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Greens very fast but true , hired clubs for $65 green fees $225 so not a cheap day , still only used one ball all the way round so can't complain beautiful views all round the course but gets very cold and windy on back nine

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Viewing only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent condition although did not play. Rode around the course. Comparable to the best course condition of a mountain course I have seen ever.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where to see the animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Drive the golf course loop at dusk to see the elk, we did and found the elf watching the golfers. We drove the whole loop around the golf course, and was able to photograph many elk and saw a fox. You can tell where the animals are, because the cars are stopped and everyone is out of their cars taking pictures

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Springs Golf Course also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Springs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Springs Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banff Springs Golf Course to your Saves list