We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a drink with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Bill's Legendary Saloon

Wild Bill's Legendary Saloon
201 Banff Ave | 2nd Floor, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403 762 0333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 72 things to do in Banff
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Country comfort food, western hospitality and a stomping good time.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to have a drink with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recommend the brisket (not sure if I'm spelling this right), but it was delicious! Add a cold beer or fun cocktail while you watch tourists learn to line dance. If you're lucky, you might get to sit on the 6-person patio overlooking downtown.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    7
    7
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a local's recommendation based on our interest in BBQ. We enjoyed the Wild West appearance and good food - one of us had pulled pork sandwich and other had BBQ sliders - chicken, pork and beef. Portion sizes were ample and prices reasonable. Be sure to check out the very modern restrooms in the other wise rustic place. Surprise!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wild Bill’s, what can we say. We liked it very much.
It was one of the few places where we could hear country music.
Once a week there are line dance lessons but we were pretty disappointed that this was NOT on country music.

The live music they also had was great. We went to see Savage West and Drew Gregory. We liked them both.

The place is lots bigger then you would think from the outside. There is wood, country and western elements, open log fire, dance floor and various corners to sit so if you are there for a romantic dinner for two or a meal with 15 co-workers you will find somewhere to sit what suits you.

The food was outstanding. We tried different things from the menu. My husband was crazy about the steaks but I had the salmon and the ribs and that was no mistake.

There were not a lot of choices in sweets but the Steamin' Cow Pie went down well a couple of times.

We would absolutely eat here again and maybe even every evening we are in Banff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No class, no hospitality,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Traveling the world I have been to many estabilshments. This rates as the worst exprience I have ever had.
Staff seemed to cater to locals only, would not provide service or seating. We were told tables were taken when they were not. When we complained we were asked to leave by the bartender who obviously had relastionships with some of the servers who had issues.

Was almost empty at 10:00 pm on Friday night which is probably indicative of the way this place is going.
Band was complaining about low number of patrons.

Dress like you just washed the trailer and you will fit right in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Line dancing, live music, what more do you want?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Visited Wild Bill's with friend to experience true western entertainment. The night started with a line dancing lesson then followed by Brent Lee and both experiences were fantastic.
I never thought i'd get up and try line dancing but it was amazing fun. The dance floor was packed with people of all ages and abilites so i didn't stand out with my two left feet.
Brent Lee a country rock singer was very good, he played a mixure of covers and his own material.
Overall the night was fab and i'd definitely recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Bill's Legendary Saloon also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Wild Bill's Legendary Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Bill's Legendary Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.