We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Zip for a Great View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surprise Corner

Surprise Corner
Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 72 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quick Zip for a Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stumbled up this road accidentally (by car) and to my SURPRISE, there was a fantastic view of Fairmont Banff Springs. It's only a few minutes drive from the centre of town, which is nice. Very cool - bring a camera!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    72
    27
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel Co Down N Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“pleasent view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Was here and did not even it was a favourite viewpoint.There are soooooooooo many lovely viewpoints around this area that you need to leave enought time to stop and savor them. there is a great view of the Banff Springs Hotel which is also a must to visit. It is a real pity that there are so many steps to climb before getting to this view point which means not everyone can get to it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Close to town so it a very quick drive. Walk up a few stairs to a nice viewing platform. Great place for trip photos.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A healthy walk from Banff..worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have been to Banff twice. Each time I have walked from the city center to Surprise Corner. As mentioned before, it is a lovely vantage point to see the Banff Springs Hotel and the Bow River. The funny thing is, the last time I was there, I didn't realize it had a name. It truly was a surprise when you came around the corner and saw the hotel, river, mountains. Spectacular views of the area and very peaceful. There were some benches along the way to rest. If you just want to get out of town and enjoy the beauty of the area, taking a walk to Surprise Corner is definitely worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A pretty view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We wondered what would happen when we got to Surprise Corner. Would someone, perhaps even in native dress, jump out from behind a tree, or maybe a totem pole, and shout "Boo!"?

Surprise corner is basically a vantage point for a pretty view that is accessed at a tight bend in the road. For safety there are pedestrian-operated safety lights to alert drivers that there could be people on the road at the corner.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surprise Corner also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Surprise Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surprise Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.