We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surprise Corner

Surprise Corner
Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 72 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
“Where is the surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Not too much to see here. But not sure why it is called surprise
corner. Maybe it is a mystery. Time will tell.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    24
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must-do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is an easy drive and a simple way to get a great, memorable picture of an iconic image. We braved the cold and the trail closed sign to get a picture of the Banff Springs Hotel. We were staying there, so it was a must for us to capture this image for our memories. Worth the drive.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow That Hotel Is Pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are like me and love the Banff Springs you will appreciate taking a short drive to get a great photo. If you aren't interested in that, because that's all it is, then don't bother. But we found the hotel lovely, so pretty and full of charm. Got out of the car, appreciated the view, took a few photos in the snow, and thats it. Then we went for an awesome brunch at the Bow Valley Grill, and after that a hike up Tunnel Mountain. Lastly, took the gondola up to Sulphur Mountain for the Alpine Lights Dinner. One of my favourite days in Banff :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Commercial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

When you think of Banff, what do you think of as it image???

Yup, Surprise corner is that image of the Fairmount Hotel across from Bow Falls and River. A bit over done but if you what that picture everyone that visit Banff has than this is your place.

Winter time is amazing picture that not everyone will have since majority of visitors in Banff come for the skiing at that time. Worth the visit and simple step over the chain say closed since it really the view you want. Area isn't that slippery or danagerous so not sure why the close it!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not far from Downtown Banff surprise corner offered us some wonderful views of the Banff springs hotel and the bow river which was all frozen in winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surprise Corner also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Surprise Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surprise Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.