We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot to hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surprise Corner

Surprise Corner
Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 32 Attractions in Banff
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were here last fall and I think this was the best part of the trip. Staying at the Banff Springs it was cool to see it from across the Bow Falls. Awesome spot to take pictures. Actually anywhere in Banff is an awesome spot to take pics. Nice trails although they may be difficult for smaller kids or anyone frail. Great little secluded beaches surrounded by rock and trees right where the Bow and Spray Rivers meet.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    50
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view of Banff Springs Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you want a great view/ photo opportunity of Banff Springs Hotel, this is your stop. Was a nice surprise when we went around the corner. Just need to park a little down the road and walk back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of the falls and Banff Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the only place in Banff where you can get a perfect view of the Banff Springs Hotel. I prefer going to this spot right around sunset when the hotel is all lit up.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulds, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always loved visiting Surprise Corner, even when I lived in Banff. It`s a great place to take photos, especially of the Fairmont Banff Springs. If you look closely you can also view the Rimrock hotel from this point. And of course its a great place for a pair of binoculars so don`t forget to bring them along.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hey, this really was a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well, if I tell you too much it won't be a surprise now, will it? We spent probably an hour here. Parking wasn't a problem, and we didn't explore it all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surprise Corner also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Surprise Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surprise Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.