We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view of the falls and Banff Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surprise Corner

Surprise Corner
Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 32 Attractions in Banff
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of the falls and Banff Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the only place in Banff where you can get a perfect view of the Banff Springs Hotel. I prefer going to this spot right around sunset when the hotel is all lit up.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    50
    20
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goulds, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always loved visiting Surprise Corner, even when I lived in Banff. It`s a great place to take photos, especially of the Fairmont Banff Springs. If you look closely you can also view the Rimrock hotel from this point. And of course its a great place for a pair of binoculars so don`t forget to bring them along.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hey, this really was a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well, if I tell you too much it won't be a surprise now, will it? We spent probably an hour here. Parking wasn't a problem, and we didn't explore it all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just as its described, it is a surprise, we drove this and also we saw it from the Bow River on the float raft tour.. Also very good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great Photo Op !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Easy scenic overlook with breathtaking view of Banff Springs
Hotel and the mountain- great quick stop near town for that
Best photo. Don't miss this !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surprise Corner also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Surprise Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surprise Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.