We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view of the falls and Banff Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surprise Corner

Surprise Corner
Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 72 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of the falls and Banff Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the only place in Banff where you can get a perfect view of the Banff Springs Hotel. I prefer going to this spot right around sunset when the hotel is all lit up.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    67
    25
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goulds, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always loved visiting Surprise Corner, even when I lived in Banff. It`s a great place to take photos, especially of the Fairmont Banff Springs. If you look closely you can also view the Rimrock hotel from this point. And of course its a great place for a pair of binoculars so don`t forget to bring them along.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hey, this really was a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well, if I tell you too much it won't be a surprise now, will it? We spent probably an hour here. Parking wasn't a problem, and we didn't explore it all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just as its described, it is a surprise, we drove this and also we saw it from the Bow River on the float raft tour.. Also very good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great Photo Op !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Easy scenic overlook with breathtaking view of Banff Springs
Hotel and the mountain- great quick stop near town for that
Best photo. Don't miss this !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surprise Corner also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Surprise Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surprise Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.