We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surprise Corner

Surprise Corner
Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$45*
and up
Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife
Ranked #23 of 61 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Goulds, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always loved visiting Surprise Corner, even when I lived in Banff. It`s a great place to take photos, especially of the Fairmont Banff Springs. If you look closely you can also view the Rimrock hotel from this point. And of course its a great place for a pair of binoculars so don`t forget to bring them along.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    32
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hey, this really was a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well, if I tell you too much it won't be a surprise now, will it? We spent probably an hour here. Parking wasn't a problem, and we didn't explore it all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just as its described, it is a surprise, we drove this and also we saw it from the Bow River on the float raft tour.. Also very good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great Photo Op !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Easy scenic overlook with breathtaking view of Banff Springs
Hotel and the mountain- great quick stop near town for that
Best photo. Don't miss this !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprise Corner is a surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Surprise seeing the Banff Springs Hotel jutting up out of the pines as you round the corner. The new platform on the opposite side of the road with parking makes it much easier to view and relax in the setting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surprise Corner also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Surprise Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surprise Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.