We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Seafood Buffet EVER....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinook Family Restaurant

Chinook Family Restaurant
222 Lynx Street P.O. Box 2200 | Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5 , Canada
1 - 403 - 760 - 3255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Leeds
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The Best Seafood Buffet EVER....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited the restaurant for the Seafood Buffet night which is a Friday after a recommendation from a firned in Banff. The seafood was amazing and so much choice. Scallops, prawns, fish and as many crab legs as you can eat - and we ate lots! All of the food was very well presented and really tasty. There was even a chef cooking one of the prawn dishes fresh for you which was amazing.

Our server Reese was wonderful and really looked after us. The Restaurant Manager Alec was very friendly and attentive ensuring we had everything we needed.

We visit Banff every March and will definately be back for the Seafood buffet next year!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    36
    21
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Super Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to the Seafood buffet with some friends visiting from York, UK. We all had the best experience. Our server Reese was a delight. The food was excellent with never ending crab legs. I am from Nova Scotia so really appricate good seafood considering Alberta is land locked. The sauteed shrimp was amazing. Great moubtain views as we watched the snow fall. Loved it and would recommend to everyone. They do it right!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cold Buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived late on Saturday so tried the breakfast buffet in the Chinook situated in the Banff Park Lodge. Very disorganised layout for the food and unfortunately the "hot" buffet was at best tepid. Not good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great evening buffet deal (2 for 1) on until Easter'13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Price was great- $22 - and the spread and quality of the Friday seafood buffet was exceptional. Also did the Sunday brunch. Price was a little more but well worth it. Chinese buffet on Monday and Southwestern on Thursday.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome buffets!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great family restaurant and awesome service. Nightly themed buffets and Sunday brunch are the best in town!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinook Family Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Chinook Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinook Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.