We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenic drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Drive

Tunnel Mountain Drive
Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 34 Attractions in Banff
Type: Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails
Attraction Details
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great scenic drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Drove Tunnel Mountain Drive to take the kids though the mountains. We pulled off the road a few times to stretch and check out the scenery. It was fantastic. Fresh air, the smell of pine. Along the route around the industrial area we found an off leash dog park. The area was quite large and fenced. Water was provided along with bags just in case you forgot to bring one. Whoever put the park there should be commended considering dogs need to be leashed at all times in Banff. Thank you

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    115
    35
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Short and sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I took a nice drive after dinner. We were lucky enough to see some Elk, remember don't get to close!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite spot ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I hiked this mountain 4 days a week while based in the town for 6 weeks. I was here in Jan/feb and June/July 6 weeks each time. The grounds were kept very neat and the wild life was superb. A busy spot in summer and campers move at a slow pace. Beautiful place over all- well worth a visit. You never know who might pop up at the side of a mountain!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Always a pleasure to walk there even a drive is worth a stop along the way. View is amazing. Definitely must see in Banff!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great views of the mountains, river, and Hoodoos! Good look out points and easy trails. Also the huge Banff Springs Fairmont Hotel is seen int he distance.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tunnel Mountain Drive also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tunnel Mountain Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.