We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short drive up Tunnel Mountain Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Drive

Tunnel Mountain Drive
Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$88*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #18 of 56 Activities in Banff
Type: Off road & ATV trails, Outdoor Activities, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A short drive up Tunnel Mountain Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the attractions in Banff. We went for a short walk and saw the Hoodoos. They were nothing compared to Bryce Park in Utah but there is a beautiful view of the Bow Valley and the mountains in the distance. There are long and short trails around for hikers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    125
    38
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
634 reviews 634 reviews
343 attraction reviews
Reviews in 234 cities Reviews in 234 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a lovely short drive around the Banff area. As well as enjoying the wonderful views we were fortunate enough to see wildlife during our trip. Well worth including this drive in your schedule when visiting Banff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From our accommodation it was easier to access by using this drive so we stopped a couple of times to look at the view. You can often see some wildlife in the valley so take binoculars.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of our favourite views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After driving up quite a bit, we found a nice viewpoint which had views of all the major mountains in the Banff Area, the Hoodoos, Banff Spring hotel and the golf course. It was very secluded so we sat back on the bench and took in the peaceful scenery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Windy, scenic lookout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the vantage of Tunnel Mountain, one can see from various clearings, sightings of Banff below. The power of the flooded river in June 2013, or the surrounding granite spires of the timeless Rockies, and the charm of this town surrounded by this beauty. Definitely take a drive on Tunnel Mountain. Lots of good accommodation there too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tunnel Mountain Drive also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tunnel Mountain Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.