We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So unlike the other Banff 'hotels'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins to your Saves list
Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
311 Marten Street | PO Box 1417, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
harrogate
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So unlike the other Banff 'hotels'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was struggling to find a hotel in Banff for the fri/sat and those that were there seemed to think they could just charge what they wanted!! Found this place through a friend and Karin the owner was great in finding me a room for two nights. In a great location, and as stated by others a little dated, but that was fine. The breakfast was exceptional, fresh fruit,bread baked goods and much more. Great value for a town that is usually so overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this lovely B & B for 4 nights in August with my son, and had the two upstairs bedrooms in the main house. My other son and his fiance joined us for a night and stayed in one of the cute little cabins. Yes, a little dated, but all in all a lovely, cosy place to stay, immaculately clean and in an ideal ideal, central location just near the main high street.
Karin our lovely host provided us with amazing breakfasts - everything you could wish for from fresh fruit salad, cereals and toast with lovely jams to gorgeous home baked muffins and pancakes .
There was also off street parking available and WIFI which worked just fine for us.
I would highly recommend staying this B&B, the rates were very reasonable, excellent value and I would certainly stay there again........hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in cabin behind the B&B for a week in August 2012. The cabin was exactly what we needed for our stay. The cabin was cosy with a full kitchen (proper stove), a double bed, and a bunk bed in another little room, which our daughter slept in. There is also a little garden to relax in, and parking right outside the cabin. Even though we had full self-catering facilities, we were delighted that breakfast was still included in the price (in the main house). Breakfast was plentiful - always home baked treats, fresh fruit, cereals, juices etc.
Just across the road is a large grocery store, and you are just one block from the main street in Banff - so easy walking distance to the tourist office, restaurants, shops etc.
Even better, it worked out around the same price for our family of 3 to stay here in our cute cabin with breakfast included, than in Banff Youth Hostel! Of course the cabin is not high-spec luxury - but that is also reflected in the price. The owner, Karin was very helpful and friendly. This was our favourite place to stay during our month trip around the Canadian Rockies. We would definitely stay here again if we ever get the chance to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Me and my husband have stayed with Karen for 2 nights. We had booked a room inside the house, but when we arrived she upgraded us to a cabin (because the rooms in the house all were booked for the long term). That was great! The cabin was small but cozy, and had everything we needed. There was a little but complete kitchen, a well sized bed, and a little couch and even a tv. The bathroom was not so big as well, but there was more than enough room for 2. The shower was always hot. There was breakfast included in the rate, and Karen filled our fridge with all the necessities for breakfast (butter, jam, orange juice, milk) and there was bread, cereal, coffee and tea. We liked it very much.
There are 2 points that we didn't like so much: we found a lot of black hairs all around the house (brrr...) and the wifi didn't work that well. There was a connection, but you first had to stand outside with your laptop or phone, pick up the internet, go back in and hope it was still there once you sat down at the table. A lot of times it was even too slow to pick up our email. But well, on the other hand, you're not in Banff to sit around doing things on the internet, right?
Another thing that might bother other people (it didn't bother us) is that the house is bit old and for example, one of the shelves fell down one day because it has been used so much. We picked it up and put it back on, it was no problem. For us, it was part of the charm. But if you're expecting a newish cabin, it's not.
The location of this B&B is great, a supermarket is very closeby and so is the center of the town. Karen is very very very friendly and tells you all about the area and about things to do and to see.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carriage House Cabin behind the B & B for 3 nights. The cabin was tiny but very warm, comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well set up for self catering with a full size stove and heaps of cooking utensils, cutlery and crockery. As the B & B had not reopened after winter our host Karin provided self service breakfast supplies for our stay. These contained delicious home baked cranberry muffins and jam, fresh bread, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, milk, cream and juice. The very best quality and very generous amounts. Again the bathroom was small but clean and functional with plenty of hot water. There was a small second bedroom with double bunks which served as a dressing room for us. The location over the road from a Safeway and metres from the main street was ideal. There was off street parking.
Karin was very helpful and provided information about the area and plenty of maps. She was very passionate about her area.
We were charged winter rates and we felt the cabin was outstanding value for the price. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend the cabin for those seeking centrally located,
clean,comfortable and affordable accommodation in Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is probably the n-th time we were visiting Bnaff. We never stayed in any B&B at Banff before. Undoubtedly, this was our most enjoyable stay in Banff. My wife and I stayed there for three nights including the Christmas day. Our host, Karin, is a very busy and very nice person. She took care of all our needs. She invited us for Christmas dinner with her. It was a really amazing experience as there were probably 18 other people were invited and all of them came from all over the world. Few were guests at the B&B, others work at Banff. We stayed in one of the two second floor rooms in the main house. The house is more than 100 years old. We loved the old world charm. Though the house was old, it was very clean and well maintained. Location of the B&B is also great. It is situated only one block away from Banff Ave. I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning to visit Banff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in this B&B.
It is the oldest one in town, in a characterful house. In the back there are a few cabins where there were more guests staying. Parking our car was possible in the back in front of the cabins, but you have to be a good driver as there is not too much space to manoevre.
Bigger cars can park on the street in front of the house. On the opposite side of the street parking seemed to be limited in time.

We were given the blue room in the main building, which was tiny but adequate and clean. The bathroom was next door with a shower in an antique bathtub, a modern toilet and sink. That bathroom was for our private use, as the people in the bedroom next to us had their bathroom next to their room on the opposite side of the hall.

Karin is a casual but very helpful and knowledgable hostess. She indicated the sights and restaurants on a map and gave us great tips for wildlife viewing.
Every evening after 8 pm. when the golfers have stopped playing, herds of elks come to eat the grass on the greens of the Banff golfclub.
Be careful though, because we went too close to them in order to make some pictures in the fading light, and we were attacked by the male who saw us as a threat for his harem. Luckily for us we could duck between the trees just in time and we weren't injured.

We went back in the early morning (6.30 am.), when rangers were driving the elk away from the greens and we could make beautiful pictures. We kept our distance this time (3 buslengths are advised by the rangers) and stayed close to our car so we could quickly drive away in case another male elk should attack us.

Another tip : when you take the Lake Louise sightseeing gondola to the top of Mount Whitehorn, there is a good chance of seeing a young male grizzlybear, who has made his territory in the neighbourhood of te gondola. The rangers there tell you how to act in case of an encounter.

Back to the review of the B&B: we concur with the raving reviews of the other guests : Karin makes indeed a fabulous breakfast with lots of selfbaked goodies, but you can also help yourself to yoghurt, cereals or fruit if you like. Breakfast is served at 8.30 am.

The B&B is in walking distance to Banff downtown, and there is a big supermarket on the corner of the street. Gasstations are also close by, and we found they had the cheapest rates of all the stations we tanked at during our trip around Alberta and British Columbia.

Overall : great value for money, and we would certainly return if we should be in Banff again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins

Address: 311 Marten Street | PO Box 1417, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3 , Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.