We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ave Brewing Co

Banff Ave Brewing Co
110 Banff Ave, 2nd Floor | 2nd Floor Clocktower Village Mall, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada
403-762-1003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived early evening before it got too busy and managed to secure a large booth. Our waitress was very friendly and patient with us while we sorted out drinks. The drinks menu was varied enough but not extensive. The food choices were excellent. The lobster roll starter went down particularly well. Recommended. The burgers were variable and the duck salad excellent. A very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Trekbud, thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you had a good time, please come back again soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    178
    52
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good but still needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We are here on Saturday March 30th, 2013. My brother ordered a side of hot wings to share with everyone and the first order came out cold. The 2nd order was much better. The rest of the food was good tho. The Service needs to be alot better than what it was. The server we had only Re filled our drinks once. Good thing there was Hockey on to keep us entertained.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Mikeman222, thanks for your review. As a senior contributor to Tripadvisor we value your feedback. I'm sorry the first round of food and service wasn't up to your expectations, but please be assured we are taking your feedback seriously and will continue to put emphasis on improving all aspects of the customer experience. Please come back and try again and we will keep an eye out for your next review. Thanks again, hopefully we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Okay, but needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

First went to this restaurant last March and it was a really good experience.

This time the food and beer were good but the service was terrible.

As requested, we seated ourselves and were then ignored for 15 minutes. . I finally went and asked for menus, which were quickly dropped off but then we were ignored for another 10 minutes before anyone showed up to help us.

Staff appeared to be working hard but things seemed a bit chaotic.

Once we ordered, drink and food came quickly but then we were forgotten again and we had to find someone to pay our bill. To the servers credit, there was a small reduction of the bill to make up for the poor service but this really took away from the overall experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Alex M, thanks for your review. Obviously something went very wrong with your service and there was a small attempt to fix that, but it wasn't enough and that's not your fault. Please be assured we are taking these comments to heart and will continue to place emphasis on improving our service. Please come back soon and hopefully all areas of concern will have been addressed. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Micro Brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great pub with a good atmosphere, brews about 6-7 beers, a dark pilsner which is very good, an IPA which is a flat English beer which is also very drinkable

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi pbentham, thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the beer; that's what we do! If you're ever passing through Banff again, make sure to pop in for pint. Thanks for the feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great music.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Great music. Great staff. Average micro brewery. We drank Saskatoon blonde, Pilsner, cream ale. Nothing amazing but overall good experience. Prices are average or below.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi polarphoenix, thanks for the review. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the beer - it's definitely what we hang our hat on, so please come back and try again! Glad the rest of the experience was good though, hopefully we'll see you again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Ave Brewing Co also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Ave Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ave Brewing Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.