We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, good service, good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ave Brewing Co

Banff Ave Brewing Co
110 Banff Ave, 2nd Floor | 2nd Floor Clocktower Village Mall, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0E1E0, Canada
403-762-1003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good service, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice atmosphere, good service, good beer - what more do you want? My wife and I left the kids at the hotel to slip away for a date - had the sampler of the local brews. Loved some more than others, but a great a little brew pub all around!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    201
    57
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wausau, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“go here for football”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were looking for a packer game and found the game here along with a friendly staff..good beer..and great chicken wings. They have the complete nfl package so whatever your team they will have your game. Go pack!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ordered Coke, brought Pepsi. Interac down. Could not pay by credit card either. I ran down to the street to the bank machine and the waiter acted like HE was doing me a favour.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, Owner at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
TrueNorthMax, I apologize for the inconvenience of your experience. Unfortunately our contract with Pepsi does not allow us to carry Coke products. We normally do not get complaints about it but I will instruct my staff to clarify with customers. As for the credit/debit machines there was a system outage with our provider that day. It definitely creates headaches for everyone and the staff can get frustrated. I hope you can try us again on your next visit and we will strive to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

With so many restaurants & bars in Banff, this one has a way of staying unique and the service was great!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great food, server needs some training”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I visited during the Bon Appetit festival with a large group of girlfriends and we opted for the special tasting menu. After a hiccup with our reservation (we waited over 30 minutes to be seated) everything seemed to run a bit more smoothly. The food was incredible! For an appetizer I ordered the Sweet Potato and Spinach salad which was so good I wanted more. My main was braised beef with papardelle and was equally well done. The pumpkin cake was a bit dry and heavy though the flavour was excellent. I was truly delighted with the food and had not expected such flavour from a pub.

The downside of our newbie server came as we attempted to clear up the bill. With 12 ladies at one table we had expected that our server would have split our orders according to seat. Sadly, that didn't happen and he refused to split the bill out after the fact. As we had all had a few drinks at that point, it took us over 45 minutes to sort out the bill. I would like to see Banff Ave Brewing Co better train their staff and advise best practice for dealing with large tables. That being said, I will likely return, though not with a large group.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, Owner at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
nielsensmith, thank you for the input. We were very happy with the Bon Appetit menu the chef created this year and look forward to the event next year!!
It is unfortunate that the server was unable to split the bills. Our menu does state that we do not split bills for large groups and this is due to our Point of Sale system which unfortunately is lacking the software to perform certain functions with larger groups . We are in the process of finding a new point of sale system to better accommodate guests in the future.
We look forward to serving you again and trust we will be able to improve upon certain areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Ave Brewing Co also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Ave Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ave Brewing Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.