We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Y Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Y Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Y Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good Location - Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at this facility for one night in July when we visited Banff for a wedding. This is the cheapest place we could find and the location of the facility not far from the city center. The room was clean, average size, comfortable but somewhat dated. It appears the some areas of the hotel need renovations in near future. Parking will be an issue during weekends in the summer months. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Y Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi upalis,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We're pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the hotels location, close to town and the Bow River.

Thanks for posting a comment about the parking; we also felt we were under-servicing our guests needs. Since your stay in July 2013 I'm pleased to inform you that we've just completed an extensive overhaul of all our parking increasing capacity by 12 cars. The new spaces were created in collaboration with the Town of Banff as part of the new pedestrian bridge project.

As always we're working hard to improve our property for our guests, with big plans coming in 2014. We hope you'll come to stay with us once again next year!

Safe travels,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    47
    48
    28
    18
See reviews for
20
51
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was very impressed with the cost. I found the place very clean, wholly welcoming, and I got to meet a bunch of people from all over the world. The food was good and served up by friendly employees whom I got to know pretty well. I took the room with a private bathroom and the place was just as neat and tidy as a regular hotel. The only difference was the size of the room but I've never needed much space when I travel alone. The one and only minor itch I couldn't easily scratch was the issues I had with the wi-fi, but since I was in Banff and all its amenities I didn't care one whit. The employees all seemed to take extra care when I was in need of information or even places to consider checking out. I give the Y Mountain Lodge two thumbs up. And I should mention that it is my opinion that all the people with the negatives are simply used to living in a bit more luxury, or more likely, expected it to be a regular Banff hotel. They're to be pitied. But in summary, if you have reasonable expectations and would like to stay in a cost-effective quaint clean friendly atmosphere in a great location in Banff, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed three nights and really appreciated the place. First, there was n o TV in our room - who would come to Banf to watch TV ?!? The view from our room was just perfect. The place is very close to the town center. Both tourists (as us) and seasonal workers mix up in the buiding. The kitchen is large enough for everyone to cook - not just throwing noodles into a microwave. Staff was friendly. The reason why we came to Banff was the price ($100 for two nights, including a light breakfast), have a look at their website to find out about specials.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The Y is trying hard to extend its customer range...free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast for private room occupants, an excellent team of friendly attentive staff, a great location and all for a good charitable cause.
However, to bring greater success to the cause they need to look hard at the facts.
Our "double" room was tiny. Small bed only made up once during our 5 day stay. No TV, no fridge, one broken chair between us, a broken blind which couldn't do it's job even if it was repaired and woefully inadequate lighting.
Worst of all was the communal kitchen in the basement. It was filthy, with open waste bins, no separate hand washing facilities and a dire need of a regular deep cleaning program, supervision of Lon and short term guests standards of hygiene.

We stayed at the Y in Vancouver about 3 weeks earlier and were impressed by the high standards achieved there. Perhaps someone in a position of authority at the Banff Y could take a hard look at both operations and make the necessary changes for the long term benefit of the worthy cause.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

No TV in the rooms....was an old hospital and there are parts that still seem like it......our room had a couple of light switches.....but they were outside the door. Location is excellent, as is the price! Really easy to walk to the downtown and many hiking trails.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I were having a hard time finding anything in Banff that was under $200. When we located this one for considerably less, I guess we should have been a little more skeptical. It was late in the day, however, and we were tired. It reminded me of a very large hostel. There were chairs, beds yet to be put together, and many other assorted items stacked in the hallways. I'll have to say the room was not that bad. It was large (and well worn) but was pretty clean and had the necessities. That is, except air conditioning. I'm pretty sure the temp in the room never dropped under 80 degrees the entire night. Admittedly, it is unseasonably warm this fall, but the place is definitely geared to the younger crowd, who probably wouldn't even mind the heat. I guess my main complaint is that is was not properly described for what it really is. We should have read a few more of the reviews!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice room - 2 double beds, we had no sink, but our friends next door did (and bigger beds!). Rooms were hot, we had both windows fully open. Everything was very clean, but there were only two bathrooms with showers on the whole floor (plus two more toilets near the cafe). Nice happy hour prices in the cafe for drinks although they didn't have much in stock! Nice big kitchen in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Y Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Y Mountain Lodge

Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Y Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Y Mountain Lodge is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our lodge has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the Banff Y Mountain Lodge is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Banff Y Mountain Lodge doesn’t charge hotel tax or GST. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. *Discounts for many local attractions and tours. Explore the Rockies. Stay at the Banff Y Mountain Lodge – Best for your budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Banff Y Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Y Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.