We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Y Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banff Y Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Banff Y Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Banff, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been staying with the Banff Y Mountain Lodge for almost 3 weeks now and have found it, from the very beginning, to be a very comfortable and inviting environment. The staff make you feel right at home. The Breakfast upgrade for $5 is incredible, actually some of the best Inn/Hotel breakfast i have had in a long time. I would definitely recommend the Y to anyone looking to stay a weekend or week or for however long in Banff because of its VERY reasonable prices and superbly (if that is even a word) staff.

Justin Roy

Room Tip: For a more private setting i would recommend spending the $160 per week as oppose to $130 for dorm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    45
    27
    17
See reviews for
20
47
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the lodge for a weekend and ended up extending my stay until the following Thursday. After reading some mixed reviews I wasn't too sure what to expect, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Decent shower, comfortable beds, free wifi and five bucks for a delicious hot breakfast was an added bonus. Staff was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The fairmont is located up the street, so anyone taking cheap shots at the banff Y should pay the $400 and stay there instead. But overall, if you go in with realistic expectations you definitely get good value for your money here. I would not hesitate to return to the banff Y lodge, and recommend it to others looking for a comfortable place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at Banff Y Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay Mark!
We were all so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you'll be coming back!

As you say yourself, we feel we offer good value for your money here, with friendly experienced staff and lots of extra added value. Thanks once again for coming to The Banff Y Mountain Lodge.
We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Steve Woollard
Marketing & Communications Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed Oct. 27. Our hostel was close to down town and had a group room with a bathroom, and there were female only rooms. All bedding was supplied, but the room and kitchen could be a little cleaner.

Room Tip: Remember to clean up after yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at Banff Y Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Sarah G,

Thanks for reviewing your recent 'Girl Guide' trip at The Banff Y Mountain Lodge.

Thrilled to hear that your group enjoyed their stay with us within our female only rooms.
We take the cleanliness of our rooms and communal spaces very seriously. During times of high use, even with additional staffing, the communal space can quickly become untidy, Therefore we thank you for your reminder and room tip for all guests don't clean up after themselves within communal areas.

We hope that your group will come to stay with us again during a future trip to Banff.

Safe travels,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Banff Y mountain Lodge is hostel-style with a kitchen and a laundry room.
We had a family room without private bathroom.
The room was kind of small, but OK for us.
The public bathroom on the 2nd floor was very clean and comfortable though.

The kitchen has about 4 stoves, but kind of small for a lodge with a size like this.
Always crowded with people at meal time.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

If Banff Y Mountain Lodge was located in other places, I would definitely say that the rooms are overpriced!
But in Banff, everything is more expensive than in other places.
So I think the price is OK for me.

The best thing about this place is the location.
Downtown Banff is just across the bridge, and the trail to Bow fall is just beside the hostel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at Banff Y Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Ruby,

I believe you are our first Taiwanese reviewer.
Thank you for taking the time to talk about your stay.

We were delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and its amenities, especially compared to the prices other hotels in Banff may charge.

Our downtown location is definitely one of our biggest selling points, as well as the immediate access to the Bow Falls trail, which is directly behind the property.

We appreciate the feedback given about the kitchen. Although large, with a number of stoves and seating for over 20 people, during peak Summer dinning hours the kitchen may get a little crowded. At these times guests can visit our in-expensive cafe offering a full menu as well as daily specials.

We hope that you'll tell your friends and family back in Taiwan good things about The Banff Y Mountain Lodge when they are looking for hotel suggestions in Banff.

Safe travels,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed here on a few other occasions and until now had no problems.
Even though the hotel is having an October promotion where rooms are only $59.00 per night with free breakfast the next morning it wasn't until after coming back from a night on the town I just happened to notice on the closed restaurant door that a breakfast voucher is required for free breakfast. Something the desk clerk conveniently forgot to give me when I checked in.
After I went to sleep that night I was awoken with what felt like itchy bites on my legs and having previous encounters with bed bugs that was the first thing that went through my mind. Confirmation of that intuition transpired when I turned on the light and lo and behold, there was the little blood gorged critter trying to scurry away on the blanket but I grabbed a plastic cup and trapped it then sealed it with some saran wrap which luckily there was some in the trash basket. This was at 3:30 am. Needless to say I got out of there but not before giving my new little pet to the night desk clerk and demanded the charge be reversed on my credit card.
To the hotels credit, the clerk was apologetic and didn't hesitate to honour my request and also said he'd alert the manager to the problem. Luckily for me my ex wife let me crash on her couch. Unfortunately her boyfriend wasn't too thrilled to see me the next morning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at Banff Y Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Tim H,

All we can start by saying is 'WOW, what a night!"

As a repeat visitor to The Banff Y Mountain Lodge we were happy that you chose us once again for your recent trip to Banff. Clearly you were enticed by the return of the free continental breakfast & the new addition of free Wi-Fi to all guests with private rooms.

As you can see from the numerous reviews below, our front desk staff are well trained and LOVE to help guests where they can. Therefore, the insinuation that the front desk staff didn't provide a breakfast voucher out of choice rather than through mistake, is, we feel unjust. Our staff are well fed, plus we'd easily catch them if they sat eating free continental breakfasts all morning!

On the issue of your nighttime discovery, all we can do is apologize and reassure all guests that if there is a report of bedbugs, even if none are found, we will spray the room in question. We also routinely spray each room, even without a report, to ensure the highest standards of cleanliness. We were pleased however to hear that the front desk agent was able to deal with your request quickly and to your liking.

We hope that you'll come back to stay with us for your next time to Banff or, perhaps we can offer a complimentary room to your ex-wife's boyfriend!

Safe travels,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is our 3rd time at the Banff Y Mountain Lodge. The first two times we came with a toddler, this time we also brought our 4 month old baby. The rooms are small but sufficient, we come here to sleep, and we had no problems there. We love the fact that everything is within walking distance, so close to downtown, especially with children. The location is beautiful, with the mountains around you. The people that work here, are friendly and helpful. The kitchen is great! We love the beef burger, and the pizza and wrap were great too, and the service and prices are good too. The breakfast is very simple, bread, butter, jam, peanutbutter, coffee, tea, juice, milk and some cereals. If you want more, just walk into town, and you find a variety of places or make your own in the large kitchen downstairs, the supermarket is 3 minutes away. If you expect luxury, go somewhere else, if you are easy going, and love to be outside in this beautiful environment, and need a place to rest for a reasonable price, come to the Y Mountain Lodge.

Room Tip: Room 206 was our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at Banff Y Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi BeeLethbridge,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us after a number of successful visits.

We were delighted to welcome the new member of your family to our family. We were especially pleased to hear that you all slept soundly, leaving you well rested to explore the beauty of the Banff National Park. And with a little extra money in your pockets!

We try to reward guest loyalty whenever possible, so please give us a call when you next plan to visit Banff and we'll see what VIP we can offer you.

Safe travels,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you want to stay in a stuffy, musty room, be kept awake all night when the place is overrun by people slamming doors and literally jumping on and off the furniture and singing, and don't mind fearing for the safety of your possessions, then this is the place for you. The toilets don't flush properly, housekeeping leaves the windows unlocked (is that so thieves can get in?) and someone had their car broken into in the parking lot during our stay. If you are a grownup who needs a decent night's sleep you will likely endure great annoyance for the small savings. The staff routinely forget to tell you things you need to know (they should give you a continental breakfast pass when you check in - ask for it!). I stay at the Y Vancouver all the time and it is a million times better than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at Banff Y Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Goldenbob,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. All feedback, even constructive criticism helps us identify where we need to improve our product or service, so we thank you once again.

We've looked into this review with particular interest as many of the points you raise, we hadn't heard about. For example, you mention someone's car was broken into during your stay, but in follow up with all front desk and night security staff we can confirm that no one came to us to report a break-in. Nor did the RCMP contact us, which we would expect if someone had reported a robbery.

To address some of your other points you raise, we were surprised to hear that your were kept awake by other guests. We do our very best to ensure that 'quiet time' is respected by all guests and our night security patrols every hour to swiftly deal with any "singing" guests. You also mention guests were "literally jumping on a off furniture", we apologize for this inconvenience, but as we do offer some dorm-style accommodation with bunk beds, we imagine it was them going to bed, or getting up to use the bathroom which you refer to.

We have recently installed 4 new security cameras around our facilities for added peace of mind and security. Although all rooms have locks on their doors, we offer guests who travel with valuables to keep them in our safe or behind the secure front desk. Therefore there is no need for guests to fear about the safety of their possessions

All guests staying in private rooms are eligible to our free continental breakfast. This does require a card to prove that guests are staying with us, but if a card is not issued during check-in, once can be obtained within 30 seconds for the front desk. However as a fail-safe a list of registered guests is provided to our cafe staff who can look up a name at any time.

Finally, thank you for mentioning the YWCA in Vancouver. We agree, they have a wonderful property. We have recently been to visit them to compare our facilities & learn best practice from one another.

Safe travels,
Steve Woollard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Y Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Y Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff
Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Y Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Y Mountain Lodge is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our lodge has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the Banff Y Mountain Lodge is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Banff Y Mountain Lodge doesn’t charge hotel tax or GST. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. *Discounts for many local attractions and tours. Explore the Rockies. Stay at the Banff Y Mountain Lodge – Best for your budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Banff Y Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Y Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.