We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Save Saved
You added A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the top floor and it was very comfortable. The location to downtown was a very short walk so there was no need to drive. This place has character and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    60
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
150
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a King suite. We arrived late and were shown around by a very nice girl. Everything was clean and very nice. The room had a bedroom and another room with a bed sofa which was prepared as well since we were 3 people. The breakfast was excellent with freshly baked cookies and the dining room area is very nice. We enjoyed our stay here.

The only negative experience here was the couple in the unit in front of ours who started the washer machine after midnight and it got very loud almost like the washer machine was in our room! The night before they had also left all the doors to the cottage open so our room was freezing cold when we got in. Although the girl who should us around explained the "don'ts" obviously some people still find it hard to be considerate of others.

In total we had a great time and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family stayed in the queen ensuite room and the king ensuite for four nights recently. The inn and Banff was very enjoyable. The room was large with a confortable seating area. The showers were small but serviceable. The continental breakfast had locally baked, fresh breads and homemade granola, fresh fruit & juice. Coffe and tea are available anytime. The hostesses were friendly and helpful with recommendations on area activities and restaurant recommendations or reservations. The inn is located about a five minute walk from town. Street noise was prominent until after 11pm and the train, while not close, is heard as well late and very early. Took a little adjustment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed a total of 4 nights and were very happy here. Yes, it is a little old and dark and creaky in places but the good points make up for that. We had 2 rooms as we stayed twice and both were spacious and comfortable. The room off the great room downstairs was particularly good. Huge bed and bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable.
The young ladies who make up the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were hearty food, all you need before heading out on a hike. I appreciated the home made granola and the daily cookies or cakes.
It is a short walk over the bridge into town so meals out in the evening are easy and drive-free.
Walking the other direction ie to the Cave and Basin was not so pleasant due to the intense numbers of vicious mosquitos. Not a problem in either of our rooms thanks to the bug screens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during The Flood in June and couldn`t have been in a better place.All the staff and the owners, Lee and Becky, did their utmost to help guests change reservations etc.They even put on a little party for us on one day to cheer us up after being marooned!
The inn is a 5 minute walk into town which would have been good if the rain had stopped! We couldn`t do much of what we had planned but this was of little consequence compared to those who had lost their homes and livelihoods.
Our room was very well-equipped but the best part was having use of the kitchen to make tea, coffee etc at any time and use of an area of the fridge to store food. As the weather was so bad we bought food for the evening in the very good supermarket and ate it in the inn`s dining room.
We also had use of a large sitting room with comfortable seating and plenty of books and games.
Breakfast was great for us - plenty of fresh fruit, good breads and home-made cookies.
I have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have just about only nice things to stay about this place. It is well located, comfortable, and looked after by some really nice people.

It is a little different. For instance, the bathroom is actually a walk down the hallway, though is still a private facility. I haven't encountered that before, but it is no big deal.

My only real criticisms of this place were that it was a little difficult to cool the room (yes, it does get hot in Banff in summer time), and the TV was a little on the small side. But who wants to spend all their time in a hotel room anyway?

As to breakfast, it was ample, healthy, and enjoyable. And on that point, the ladies were happy to help us out by arranging it early for us on our last morning so we could get away for our long drive. Much appreciation.

I hope we get to stay here on our next trip to Banff...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I chose this inn after an extensive internet search for Banff B&Bs. We were sold after calling the inn and speaking to the owner. Our experience here justified our long-distance impression. The inn is in a lovely location - almost all that we wanted to see i Banff was within walking distance. Our room was cozy, quiet and comfortable. The owner and staff were great and went above and beyond to help us enjoy our stay. They are all very knowledgeable about what to see and do in the area as well as in the other locales we visited like Lake Louise and the ice fields. Their suggestions made our five days exhilarating. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.