We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Save Saved
You added A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very welcoming. Attentative staff. Good standard accommodation. Wardrobe and drawer space limiting if you are staying more than a couple of nights. Breakfast fab, great selection, very fresh, will change/add to choice if required. Relaxed atmosphere throughout stay. The walk into town is about 10-15 mins. Taxi about $8. Hot springs worth visit. Ski ing all three mountains was as we expected, fantastic, quiet, long wide ski areas, very laid back. Worth the stay as good value for money.

Room Tip: We choose the suite. Room 6 is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    59
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
148
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, alberta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Banff Boutique Inn. It is very clean and well looked after. The location is in walking distance to downtown Banff and the hosts are very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel for couples wanting a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed our time here. Very nice, clean, updated bed & breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel. You have control over the heat and can open the windows if it gets a little hot. The staff and breakfast were great.

I gave sleep quality 4 stars because our last morning we heard children outside our room and had a hard time sleeping past 7AM. I wouldn't recommend this for families with children. Other than that, it was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful skiing trip in Canada with my boyfriend. We were travelling around visiting different ski resorts and this was our base whilst in Banff.
I try and avoid staying in hotels at all costs and was very excited when I found a Bannf Boutique on trip advisor. We arrived on a Tuesday and stayed for three nights before heading to Jasper.
We stayed in the room just thru the lounge ( can't remember the number) and it was massive !! The bed was perhaps the biggest I have seen and was very comfortable !! There was plenty of storage space and a sofa... the bathroom in all honesty wasn't as modern as the room but everywhere was really clean and tidy.......

The breakfast was great and set us up for a day on the slopes, the granola was amazing ( thanks for the recommendation Julia) and the fresh baked goods every morning were delicious ... we couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast is usually served 8 am onwards,but we asked if we could eat earlier and this wasn't a problem for them .

All in all a great place to stay... and if I am lucky enough to retun to Banff this is where I will be staying !!! Go ahead and book you won't be disappointed !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Loved the charming feel of this small inn - high ceilings in the main areas (and room 3), hardwood floors, common great room with mountain views. Julia cheerfully waited up until midnight for us to arrive so we could wake up in Banff instead of the airport strip - thanks Julia! Becky (proprietor and Laurier alumni) and Heather make eggs to order at breakfast along with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, fresh yogourt, fresh natural Banff-baked breads and bagels topped off a fresh baked treat that changes daily. And if you get up early to head to the slopes Heather and Julia makes sure you have access to all these breakfast items (including baked treats in a ziploc) so you can enjoy breakfast on your own early morning schedule. Short walk puts you in the heart of Banff downtown.

Room Tip: Room 3, just off the great room is spacious, bright, quiet with a sizeable ensuite with tub, separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Love this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Banff. It is about a 10 min. walk from town and the staff is great! Because we were the only guests to check in on the Sunday, they upgraded our room for free. Breakfast included eggs made to our liking, cereal, toast, tea or coffee. The common area was very relaxing with a fireplace to warm up in front of. I was so excited to buy a small piece of art by a frequent visitor to the inn! Great place for families, small groups or solo travelers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here during a professional conference being held at the Banff Springs hotel. I am so happy that I did. The room was great - a cozy bed, huge bathroom, tons of closet space and nice and quiet. It was walking distance to both the conference and downtown. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great!

I would recommend staying here to someone looking for a nice friendly, quiet experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.