We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Save Saved
You added A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Kimberley, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here during a professional conference being held at the Banff Springs hotel. I am so happy that I did. The room was great - a cozy bed, huge bathroom, tons of closet space and nice and quiet. It was walking distance to both the conference and downtown. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great!

I would recommend staying here to someone looking for a nice friendly, quiet experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    60
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
149
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A few years ago when my daughter decided to marry she wanted to it to be in banff. My son had gotten married at a lodge in the rockies a few yeary previous and we had gotten to know the inn keeper there Lee. I kept in contact with Lee and found he had bought his own B&B. I asked Lee if he could do her Wedding, he agreed and we rented the whole place for the weekend. It was Fantastick. My Daughter got grease on her wedding dress during the pictures but the staff got the grease out before the cerimony.My wife and I have stayed there numerious times also my family and have always enjoyed ourselves every time.

Room Tip: The rooms above the garage out back are our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I admit- I almost didn't want to write a review on this place- I wanted to keep it as "secret" as I could- didn't want it to become too popular- but that wouldn't be fair...so here goes. my wife and I stayed here for 4 nights this January- our first trip to Banff (we live in Florida). Our stay couldn't have been better. It was the perfect getaway. Quiet, quaint, cozy, walking distance to town, but secluded enough to think otherwise, well appointed rooms, terrific staff, great breakfast, everything and more than what we had expected- the perfect romantic and relaxing getaway. As many other reviewers said- it definitely felt like a home away from home.

We have been dreaming of visiting Banff/Lake Louise for years. I had always imagined/dreamt of staying at the famous Fairmont Lake Louise Chateau. One day we drove up there- and the minute I stepped into the lobby of that place I knew we made the right decision on staying at the BBI. While the Chateau's location and vistas are undeniably beautiful, after 5 minutes of being inside the place I couldn't wait to leave- it was more a family resort from the 90's than anything else- and for a quarter of the price, the BBI was/is hands down the much better choice. I truly hope that we will be able to visit Banff again, and when we do we will definitely stay at the BBI.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room was clean, comfortable, the staff very helpful, the included breakfast had very healthy choices. TV a bit small, but ok, we spent little time inside the room. The only negative was the somewhat tight parking area as there is limited room in the back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I very much enjoyed staying at the Banff Boutique Inn. Our room was very cozy with a king size bed, nice couch, beautiful 'retro' bathroom. The common room is a great place to read a book, or have breakfast with a mountain view. The inn is about a ten minute walk, along the river, from downtown Banff. The staff is also very friendly! I'll definitely be back for my next stay in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I first stayed at the Boutique Inn during late November for a single night and could not wait to return. I've since been back twice, most recently for a week over Christmas. It's perfect for either a short or long stay. I cannot fault nor find an area in which the Inn could improve - the most welcoming, helpful and thoughtful staff who treat you as friends, beautiful setting & views, delicious & extensive breakfasts, incredibly reasonable prices, such comfortable beds and a homely, cosy atmosphere - all a beautiful walk from town. I cannot wait to go back, it's like a home away from home & is one of the most enjoyable experiences I've had with accommodation in Australia & Canada - and I was on my own. I cannot speak more highly of this beautiful little place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My first time at this property, because the hotel I usually stay at was full. The greeting when I arrived was exceptional, the tour of the place informative, the rooms comfortable and quirky. A great B&B run by people who actually seem to care about the comfort of their guests. Incredibly reasonable prices. A very pleasant experience. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;