We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Fantastic, Cabins Rustic but Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Save
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
calgary,ab
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Restaurant Fantastic, Cabins Rustic but Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We visiting one night in the off season from Calgary and enjoyed a amazing dinner-scallop salad/brie to start followed by the best Bison we have had anywhere. Portions are very generous and Wine was reasonable. Our dinner and breakfast was included with our nights accommodation.
It was very cold when we visited but the fireplace and heater was able to keep our cabin cosy.The cabins were built in 1923 and although rustic are charming- I would rate the cabins as good and the restaurant as excellent therefore the overall rating of very good.
I would recommend visiting Storm mountain lodge - you can make reservations just for dinner , just keep in mind that it is about 1/2 an hour drive from Banff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    43
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
18
126
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

You will need your own car to find this location but it’s definitely well worth the effort.
Head out west from Banff, turn off the Trans-Canada Highway at a main intersection near the Castle Mountain area and take the Banff/Windermere Parkway for about 2 kilometres up the first climb and look out for the right hand turn-off to Storm Mountain Lodge.
If you can’t afford to stay a night, it’s still worth dropping in for a beer or two, sitting in their lounge on their comfy leather couches, sitting beside a crackling fire and you will find and certainly experience the real Canadian ‘feel’ that visitors to Canada should not miss. Vintage snow sled coffee table, snow shoes, ski s, antlers and of course a variety of stuffed heads of wildlife (road kill rescue of course) decorate the room but not in any way offensive or off-putting.
A wonderful highlight would be to stay a night or two in one of their absolutely authentic ‘Canadian’ log cabins. Again, another open fireplace, comfy bed and definitely another Canadian ‘must do’ experience if you have the time. These cabins are historically authentic, and beautifully furnished in a rustic elegance. The log buildings were built way back in 1922 by the Canada Pacific Railway as a bungalow camp to promote tourism in the Banff National Park. Look out for the little cabin welcome committee – chipmunks!
Even more!............. the Restaurant! Enjoy dinner and you won’t be disappointed. Delicious food with a good choice and it felt like five star dining to me. This was included in our night’s stay. Bargain!
All in all a memory to tuck away that you will never forget, ever!

  • Liked — The whole feel of the place
  • Disliked — Getting there required the use of my own car - I'm not sure if they pickup from anywhere.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have visited this location on previous visits to the Banff area, but just for an evening meal. This visit we stayed 3 nights to enjoy the ambience of the area. The owners and staff go out of their way to make your stay special. We were in Log Cabin #9, and it was very clean, up to date comfortable and made cozy in the evening with a fireplace. The meals served in the main lodge were outstanding, served beautifully and exceptional in taste. The setting is quiet and lovely among the pine trees, set back from the road and across the highway from Storm Mountain. What a fantastic respite after a days activities, whatever they may be, in the Banff/Lake Louise area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a wonderful evening and stay...fantastic food..and tranquil setting...we can not wait to go back..great distance for a weekend stay from Calgary. Friendly service and a quiet get a way.

The cottages are quaint and comfortable. We had a sitting area which was nice to have the extra space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Storm Mountain Lodge is equidistant from Banff and Lake Louise. The log cabins are set back from the road in a beautiful setting. Yes, they're close to the road but the road noise is really not a factor (if you're really noise sensitive, try a weekend stay when there's less truck traffic). Note that TripAdvisor's map locates the Lodge in Banff but it is actually 25 km from town. It's a cozy, rustic, spacious enough room with a wood-burning fireplace. The lodge is comfortable, accessible and has an excellent (but not inexpensive) restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in August and it was the perfect place to end our week in Jasper and Banff. The cabin was small, but most cabins are. There was a beautiful fireplace right in the center of the room and enough firewood to enjoy many fires. The bed was a little lacking in comfort and the heater clicked and popped all night, but those were minor details we overlooked due to the rustic nature of the cabin. If you have a choice, request a cabin in the back, as our cabin was right on the highway and you could hear the trucks passing all night long. The restaurant was really charming, but the prices were a bit much considering the rustic nature of the rooms. We opted to go the store and picnic our way through our stay, but you can also drive to Banff for a nice dinner at reasonable prices. They do not have a coffee maker in the room or hairdryers, so plan to bring your own. Overall, a charming stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Looking for a quiet, cozy, charming stay in the woods on the mountain? Look no further! The log cabin was just as delightful inside as the outside looked - right out of a fairytale storybook! Great getaway from tv, internet, electronics, etc. Just bring a good book or a board game and RELAX! The bed was extremely comfy, the cabin was immaculate. We enjoyed the gourmet dinner and relaxing in front of the fireplace after dinner in the lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.