We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cabin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Save Saved
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cabin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in August and it was the perfect place to end our week in Jasper and Banff. The cabin was small, but most cabins are. There was a beautiful fireplace right in the center of the room and enough firewood to enjoy many fires. The bed was a little lacking in comfort and the heater clicked and popped all night, but those were minor details we overlooked due to the rustic nature of the cabin. If you have a choice, request a cabin in the back, as our cabin was right on the highway and you could hear the trucks passing all night long. The restaurant was really charming, but the prices were a bit much considering the rustic nature of the rooms. We opted to go the store and picnic our way through our stay, but you can also drive to Banff for a nice dinner at reasonable prices. They do not have a coffee maker in the room or hairdryers, so plan to bring your own. Overall, a charming stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    43
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
120
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Looking for a quiet, cozy, charming stay in the woods on the mountain? Look no further! The log cabin was just as delightful inside as the outside looked - right out of a fairytale storybook! Great getaway from tv, internet, electronics, etc. Just bring a good book or a board game and RELAX! The bed was extremely comfy, the cabin was immaculate. We enjoyed the gourmet dinner and relaxing in front of the fireplace after dinner in the lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Cabin 14...best stay in the wilderness. Comfortable beds, great fireplace and solitude. What else could you ask for, eh?
I had the trout for dinner and it was delicious. I have been there several times over the last decade and their level of service has always been great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed one night in one of the older log cabins, which had a fireplace. Very quiet, nestled among the trees. Bed was very comfortable and the bath products of high quality. Loved the claw footed tub. Ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. While the dinner was very good, the breakfast was very, very tasty and beautifully presented. Breakfast at Storm Mountain was my favorite meal during our week trip in Alberta, CA. Only drawback to our cabin was that it smelled slightly of soot, probably from the beautiful, old stone fireplace. While you could light a fire, we did not because it was not cold enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been to Storm Mountain Lodge many times, and never get tired of it. The view is so gorgeous, the hummingbirds drinking out the nectar holders, the cabins, and the staff who seem to be instant friends. The dining room is lovely - and they do a very good packed lunch too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was a treat to stay in a cabin at this lodge. The cabins are very well done and makes one remember the pioneer days when one lived in a small log cabin. The beds were very comfortable and the soap accessories of a very good quality. The lodge restaurant is a little pricey but has some excellent specials. But the quality is excellent and you are getting what you paid for so you don't mind the extra cost. Between breakfast, dinner, and teatime we enjoyed all the meals and they serve an excellent selection of teas. There are a couple of things to be aware of before you go. No food allowed in the cabins so wildlife is not attracted to it. Also it is a bit of a drive if you want to eat elsewhere. If you are sightseeing during the day it is easy to eat somewhere on the way back, otherwise your options are limited close to the lodge. This was a great and excellent lodge experience that I would do again.

Room Tip: We were in cabin #4 and enjoyed this location being at the far end of the cabin's arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Your own cabin in the woods with a fireplace, it doesn't get much more Canadian than that. Stayed here for one night and have booked a return visit. Not fancy but perfectly cozy rustic charm, clean, very comfortable and a short drive from Banff. A wonderful main lodge and dining room with fantastic meals and views of the mountains and an overall great vibe. Friendly staff and an onsite gift shop has a nice selection of reasonably priced goods as well as a great selection of Canadian books. All in all, we loved the whole experience and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.