We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True way to stay in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Save Saved
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“True way to stay in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Forgot the Fairmont and any traditional hotel. If you want to stay in Banff or Lake Louise area this is the place to stay at. In the middle of the wilderness, in your own log cabin, with real wood fireplace and most modern amenities. This was a great place to be.

Room Tip: Try to get the cabins father away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    43
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
120
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Back in the 1920's when there was little development in the Rockies, it's easy to see why this spot was chosen, surrounded by such magnificent mountains and close by to the rail lines.

Today it is just an hour from Calgary, but you feel like you are back in time, away from it all.

We had one of the original cabins with a large river rock fireplace and nice little front porch. It was on the front of the property nearer the road than some, but while other reviews noticed traffic noise from the highway, we did not at all. Could be the snow in winter muffles the sound.

The highlight for us was the combo of the secluded cabin feel combined with the cozy and friendly lodge with sofas and restaurant. Very pleasantly surprised that a lodge with mostly just guests eating there, maintains such a high standard. Very, very good food -comparable to some of the best in restaurant-rich Calgary. Great gift shop too- not your usual kitsch - very thoughtful and interesting clothes and gifts.

Went x-country skiing at Castle Junction (10 mins away) then did the snowshoe loop (about an hour outing) next morning, which started right near our cabin.

Overall a bit pricey considering it is funky....but we went on a Sunday and got dinner and breakfast included for about the same price as just the cabin on a Sat night....and hey funky in the woods beats luxury surrounded by asphalt when it comes to enjoying the Rockies.

We will return for another peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a great little page out of Canadian History, 14 log cabins built around 1922, all have runnning water and toilets...It is a great place to take a romantic weekend.
Ensure you dress for 3 seasons if you plan on doing outdoor activities. The food was good as well, menu is limited but it is very yummy.
Banff and Lake Louise are close if you need to run into town for snacks or goodies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've traveled all through Europe and have stayed in some wonderful hotels and inns, but none compare to the romantic, cozy, old-fashioned charm of Storm Mountain Lodge. We spent two glorious nights tucked away from any outside distractions in our delightful Cabin 3. We enjoyed snowshoeing on the extensive and beautiful hiking trails, ate delicious meals at the lodge, and shared warm evenings together in front of our wood burning fireplace. The staff were incredibly accommodating and kind and we loved every minute of our stay. We're already making plans to return as soon as possible. Thank you, Storm Mountain, for a wonderful anniversary setting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times in the last few years, most recently August 2012. This is a wonderful historic property that has never been renovated to the point where it has lost its charm. (I'm thinking of Paradise Bungalows at Lake Louise). Originally built in the 1920s these little cabins have retained all of their rustic charm while still having all of the creature comforts you could wish for. They have bathrooms with large claw-foot tubs and wood-burning stone fireplaces. The log beds have wonderfully comfortable mattresses with high quality linens. There is a little table and chairs with wine glasses in case you want to bring a bottle to enjoy in front of your fire. There are no coffee makers but a short walk to the Lodge will get you a steaming mug of their excellent Kicking Horse coffee and a scone to go with. You can enjoy this in the wonderful Lodge with its roaring log fire or take it back to your cabin.

The restaurant in the historic lodge is outstanding. The menu is, of necessity, very limited with approximately 5 entrees to choose from. Most people will find something that appeals to them and the food is excellent. In the winter this room, which was the old original lodge, can be a bit chilly with its wall of windows and although there are baseboard heaters they sometimes can't keep up. That is the only negative in this very charming restaurant.

The setting on Storm Mountain is simply stunning and although some of the reviewers have mentioned the noise from transport trucks on the highway that runs by the property (how else would you get to it) we have never been bothered by this.

It's not inexpensive to stay and eat here but we consider it a special treat and you won't find a more romantic place to stay anywhere.

Room Tip: Our favourite cabin is #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Storm Mountain in August on the last night of our vacation. The cabin we had was great, comfortable accommodation with a fire place. We shared our front porch with a couple of ground squirrels who kept us company as we sat on the porch and read. Yes, there was a little road noise but nothing too significant.

The meals in the restaurant were outstanding. The lodge is worth staying at simply for the amazing food. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with friendly service as well.

We have travelled a lot in the Rockies and Storm Mountain Lodge is certainly a place we will return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canadá
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

All loved everything we ordered, the food was perfectly prepared with local ingredients and very fresh. This lodge doesn't look like much from the road, it's a hidden gem and overlooked off Hwy 93 a couple minutes past Banff town. We would not have thought it was a good place for dinner but there were good reviews online so we gave it a try - we were extremely pleased with everything. The cabins were super cozy and cute. Nice atmosphere, romantic and warm. We'll going to celebrate many more anniversaries there for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.