We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Realxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Save
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Nanton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cozy and Realxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a great little page out of Canadian History, 14 log cabins built around 1922, all have runnning water and toilets...It is a great place to take a romantic weekend.
Ensure you dress for 3 seasons if you plan on doing outdoor activities. The food was good as well, menu is limited but it is very yummy.
Banff and Lake Louise are close if you need to run into town for snacks or goodies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    43
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
18
126
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've traveled all through Europe and have stayed in some wonderful hotels and inns, but none compare to the romantic, cozy, old-fashioned charm of Storm Mountain Lodge. We spent two glorious nights tucked away from any outside distractions in our delightful Cabin 3. We enjoyed snowshoeing on the extensive and beautiful hiking trails, ate delicious meals at the lodge, and shared warm evenings together in front of our wood burning fireplace. The staff were incredibly accommodating and kind and we loved every minute of our stay. We're already making plans to return as soon as possible. Thank you, Storm Mountain, for a wonderful anniversary setting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times in the last few years, most recently August 2012. This is a wonderful historic property that has never been renovated to the point where it has lost its charm. (I'm thinking of Paradise Bungalows at Lake Louise). Originally built in the 1920s these little cabins have retained all of their rustic charm while still having all of the creature comforts you could wish for. They have bathrooms with large claw-foot tubs and wood-burning stone fireplaces. The log beds have wonderfully comfortable mattresses with high quality linens. There is a little table and chairs with wine glasses in case you want to bring a bottle to enjoy in front of your fire. There are no coffee makers but a short walk to the Lodge will get you a steaming mug of their excellent Kicking Horse coffee and a scone to go with. You can enjoy this in the wonderful Lodge with its roaring log fire or take it back to your cabin.

The restaurant in the historic lodge is outstanding. The menu is, of necessity, very limited with approximately 5 entrees to choose from. Most people will find something that appeals to them and the food is excellent. In the winter this room, which was the old original lodge, can be a bit chilly with its wall of windows and although there are baseboard heaters they sometimes can't keep up. That is the only negative in this very charming restaurant.

The setting on Storm Mountain is simply stunning and although some of the reviewers have mentioned the noise from transport trucks on the highway that runs by the property (how else would you get to it) we have never been bothered by this.

It's not inexpensive to stay and eat here but we consider it a special treat and you won't find a more romantic place to stay anywhere.

Room Tip: Our favourite cabin is #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Storm Mountain in August on the last night of our vacation. The cabin we had was great, comfortable accommodation with a fire place. We shared our front porch with a couple of ground squirrels who kept us company as we sat on the porch and read. Yes, there was a little road noise but nothing too significant.

The meals in the restaurant were outstanding. The lodge is worth staying at simply for the amazing food. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with friendly service as well.

We have travelled a lot in the Rockies and Storm Mountain Lodge is certainly a place we will return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canadá
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

All loved everything we ordered, the food was perfectly prepared with local ingredients and very fresh. This lodge doesn't look like much from the road, it's a hidden gem and overlooked off Hwy 93 a couple minutes past Banff town. We would not have thought it was a good place for dinner but there were good reviews online so we gave it a try - we were extremely pleased with everything. The cabins were super cozy and cute. Nice atmosphere, romantic and warm. We'll going to celebrate many more anniversaries there for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My fiance and i stumbled upon this place a year ago while looking for a place to eat. A local merchant suggested we go to Storm for lunch and try their bison burger. She was spot on, as this was the best burger i'd ever had. the setting was perfect, we sat next to the fire and the service was awesome.
a year later and we decided to elope to get married at Storm. We're from Texas and coming to the Canadian Rockies is a great get away for us.
We were married right outside the lodge with Storm Mtn. in the background. We didn't have any family with us so a kind Storm staff member was our witness. Everyone bent over backwards to make sure we were taken care of our entire trip.
the cabin's are great. no phone, no alarm clock, no tv. beds are great and the cabins are cleaned everyday. the fireplace had kindling added each day for our romantic fire.
The food is the best in Banff. Hands down. the other restaurants can't compete when it comes to Storm's quality, taste and presentation. say what you will about price, but you get what you pay for. I'm a frequent traveler, and the food here is some of the best i've eaten around the Globe. You're cheating yourself out of a grand meal if you don't give it a try.

Storm is a place my now wife and i will frequent for years to come. No questions about it, the people, cabin and restaurant make it the place to stay for us when we want to get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My sister was desperate for her boyfriend to have a log cabin experience during our trip. What a disappointment. I had purposefully booked here as it was cheaper than Castle Mountain Village and had a dining room (I don't do self catering).
The food prices are astronomical, so much so that we actually got back in the car and drove to Banff for pizza! (That way we could have leftovers for breakfast).
Cabins 11, 12, 14 & 15 back directly onto the highway.
The beds are comfy but that's it. There are no conveniences of any sort and the bathroom didn't even have a curtain! We had to pull the shower curtain round so that our neighbours wouldn't see us in the bathroom!
While my brother in law appeared to enjoy his log cabin experience I was bitterly disappointed. My husband was less than impressed when I revealed how much I had actually paid. His response was 'We paid over $300 and had to share a room! Are you crazy?'
Needless to say we will not be returning to Storm Mountain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.