We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to End Our Rockies Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Way to End Our Rockies Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Storm Mountain in August on the last night of our vacation. The cabin we had was great, comfortable accommodation with a fire place. We shared our front porch with a couple of ground squirrels who kept us company as we sat on the porch and read. Yes, there was a little road noise but nothing too significant.

The meals in the restaurant were outstanding. The lodge is worth staying at simply for the amazing food. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with friendly service as well.

We have travelled a lot in the Rockies and Storm Mountain Lodge is certainly a place we will return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    39
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
15
108
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canadá
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

All loved everything we ordered, the food was perfectly prepared with local ingredients and very fresh. This lodge doesn't look like much from the road, it's a hidden gem and overlooked off Hwy 93 a couple minutes past Banff town. We would not have thought it was a good place for dinner but there were good reviews online so we gave it a try - we were extremely pleased with everything. The cabins were super cozy and cute. Nice atmosphere, romantic and warm. We'll going to celebrate many more anniversaries there for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My fiance and i stumbled upon this place a year ago while looking for a place to eat. A local merchant suggested we go to Storm for lunch and try their bison burger. She was spot on, as this was the best burger i'd ever had. the setting was perfect, we sat next to the fire and the service was awesome.
a year later and we decided to elope to get married at Storm. We're from Texas and coming to the Canadian Rockies is a great get away for us.
We were married right outside the lodge with Storm Mtn. in the background. We didn't have any family with us so a kind Storm staff member was our witness. Everyone bent over backwards to make sure we were taken care of our entire trip.
the cabin's are great. no phone, no alarm clock, no tv. beds are great and the cabins are cleaned everyday. the fireplace had kindling added each day for our romantic fire.
The food is the best in Banff. Hands down. the other restaurants can't compete when it comes to Storm's quality, taste and presentation. say what you will about price, but you get what you pay for. I'm a frequent traveler, and the food here is some of the best i've eaten around the Globe. You're cheating yourself out of a grand meal if you don't give it a try.

Storm is a place my now wife and i will frequent for years to come. No questions about it, the people, cabin and restaurant make it the place to stay for us when we want to get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My sister was desperate for her boyfriend to have a log cabin experience during our trip. What a disappointment. I had purposefully booked here as it was cheaper than Castle Mountain Village and had a dining room (I don't do self catering).
The food prices are astronomical, so much so that we actually got back in the car and drove to Banff for pizza! (That way we could have leftovers for breakfast).
Cabins 11, 12, 14 & 15 back directly onto the highway.
The beds are comfy but that's it. There are no conveniences of any sort and the bathroom didn't even have a curtain! We had to pull the shower curtain round so that our neighbours wouldn't see us in the bathroom!
While my brother in law appeared to enjoy his log cabin experience I was bitterly disappointed. My husband was less than impressed when I revealed how much I had actually paid. His response was 'We paid over $300 and had to share a room! Are you crazy?'
Needless to say we will not be returning to Storm Mountain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Here we sitting on the porch of our little and dark cabin, listening to the cars go by on the nearby highway 93. After arrival a few minutes ago we were suprised to find our supposedly romantic cabin to be very basic ( I wonder what is the difference between historical and just old and worn out...). The lady at the front desk had advised us that we would have a gas fireplace. Which we were okay with, until we entered the cabin and found out it was actually a gas stove which a one inch flame max!!! Not romantic... This cabin is the exact same price as another one with a wood fireplace which is advertised on the website. We pointed out this issue to the receptionist to see if anything was possible but they were for the most very unhelpfull. We are seasoned travellers of the canadian rockies accomodations and this is a total rip-off. Last time they see us.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My (now) fiancé and I visited Storm mountain last year and we still talk about how much we miss it. It is a cabin, but the kind you dream about... a cozy fireplace, clawfoot tub, wooden bed... ugh, it was just perfect. We went in October and had snow almost the entire time, but ONLY on the cabin, because of how high up it is. Once we left the roads cleared. It was very surreal, like we were living in a little snow globe. The views are absolutely breathtaking, and the food and service was wonderful. The receptionist (and an adorable dog in a sweater) greeted us warmly and was very hospitable.

My ONLY complaint was that the food is very expensive. They don't allow you to bring food into your cabin, which kind of leaves you... stranded unless you want to pay $30 a meal. It was excellent food, but not consistent with the prices. For breakfast we had standard eggs and fruit and it was still about a $40 check after tip. Who has that kind of money to burn?

Other than that, it was the perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here. For one night. A lovely location on first impression but right above the dual carriageway with trucks driving on through the night. This was our alarm clock in the morning. We had spent the last 11 days travelling from Vancouver to Calgary but this place was the most expensive we had come across. And the price was just room only, no breakfast included. The chalets are a nice concept but it's not too clear what impression they are trying to give? The bath/shower was a little inappropriate for the size of the bathroom, a shower cubicle would have been more practical. Only one set of towels with no tea or coffee making facilities, a waiver that had to be signed on check in incase of breakage at $100, with the close noise of the trucks at night and a bed up against the wall made this a very average stay in indeed. We did not try the menu for dinner or breakfast.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms at the back are better, but doubtful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel
Storm Mountain Banff
Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list