We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mountain romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Save Saved
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect mountain romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My (now) fiancé and I visited Storm mountain last year and we still talk about how much we miss it. It is a cabin, but the kind you dream about... a cozy fireplace, clawfoot tub, wooden bed... ugh, it was just perfect. We went in October and had snow almost the entire time, but ONLY on the cabin, because of how high up it is. Once we left the roads cleared. It was very surreal, like we were living in a little snow globe. The views are absolutely breathtaking, and the food and service was wonderful. The receptionist (and an adorable dog in a sweater) greeted us warmly and was very hospitable.

My ONLY complaint was that the food is very expensive. They don't allow you to bring food into your cabin, which kind of leaves you... stranded unless you want to pay $30 a meal. It was excellent food, but not consistent with the prices. For breakfast we had standard eggs and fruit and it was still about a $40 check after tip. Who has that kind of money to burn?

Other than that, it was the perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    43
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
119
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here. For one night. A lovely location on first impression but right above the dual carriageway with trucks driving on through the night. This was our alarm clock in the morning. We had spent the last 11 days travelling from Vancouver to Calgary but this place was the most expensive we had come across. And the price was just room only, no breakfast included. The chalets are a nice concept but it's not too clear what impression they are trying to give? The bath/shower was a little inappropriate for the size of the bathroom, a shower cubicle would have been more practical. Only one set of towels with no tea or coffee making facilities, a waiver that had to be signed on check in incase of breakage at $100, with the close noise of the trucks at night and a bed up against the wall made this a very average stay in indeed. We did not try the menu for dinner or breakfast.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms at the back are better, but doubtful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The good...
Super cute rustic cabins. Ask for one with a wood burning fireplace. Claw foot bath tubs. Nice decor. Enough space for your stuff. We brought a bottle of wine and cheese/ grapes... it was lovely and cozy at the fire. Even in the summer it is cool, so a fire is in order. Lots of hiking trails near by. Food in the lodge was excellent. I loved the lodge. Picture this...A big wood burning fire, delish martini in hand, nice cozy couches, perhaps some appitizers... fantastic. Be sure to make reservations for dinner when you book. Good food. Good drinks. You can also get dinner to take to your cabin...thats nice if you want a romantic night in. Breakfast meals were a lot for us, so we shared.
The not so good...
Highway basically right there. Didn't bother me though. Front porch was slanted...couldn't really sit on porch because of mosquitos and couldn't put your drink down. Not a lot of water pressure for the shower.
They could make it better by giving you a list of hiking trails that are around. Go prepared... not much around. You kind of have to eat there.. or go into banff, which is a bit of a drive. If money is an issue, you might want to pass... it can add up :)
All in all, I would totally go again. I had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've just returned from a two night stay at Storm Mountain Lodge in the Banff National Park and I can't express what a lovely time we had! Despite the rather sour reviews I've read elsewhere, we experienced NONE of the negatives and ALL of the positives. The staff was delightful, accommodating and endearing, the property was gorgeous and the cabins themselves were adorable - just the place for a quiet and peaceful get-a-way in a unique setting. The fireplace added just the right touch - what could be better than falling asleep with a crackling fire on a cool end of summer evening! The food at the Lodge was fairly priced, generous, well-prepared, presentation was flawless and the food itself was first rate - we ALL had incredible meals with no complaints (and I'm the picky foodie!) I wouldn't hesitate to return again. There were NO spiders in the room (but keep in mind, you are in the mountains), the rooms were clean and presentable, and the grounds were lovely.

Room Tip: While there is some highway noise if a large truck should pass by, you rarely hear anything, so any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at Storm Mountain Lodge many times; and I have also stopped many times for lunch en route to the Columbia Valley. We stopped there yesterday for a quick bite to eat and were once again not disappointed. I had a the bison burger - moist and perfectly cooked with a lovely green salad. My partner had the seafood chowder, which I think has been on the menu for years - and no wonder - it was delicious. I ordered a glass of wine which unfortunately was far too sweet for my taste; I returned it and ordered something different - no extra charge. Very pleasant wait staff. If you find yourself en route for Calgary and you're feeling peckish this is the place to make a stop! I

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Storm Mountain Lodge is our favourite getaway - the historic buildings have been revamped for winter comfort, and the local skiing & hiking are amazing! The original cabins have stone fireplaces while the newer ones have gas, but all have modern plumbing with showers & tubs. The beds are very comfortable and the quilts keep you warm on the coldest of days - even in January! Some reviews mention highway noise but we find Cabin #2 to be very quiet. There are no cooking facilities so eating in the lodge's restaurant is a must, but the breakfasts (around $12) are wonderful. Try Chef Jeremy's scones - they're the best I've ever had. If you stay the weekend, you must dine there too - Jeremy's creations are the tastiest in the Rockies!

Room Tip: We like Cabin #2 - it just seems the coziest to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We loved the experience of staying at Storm Mountain Lodge, and it is truly an experience. The Lodge is uniquely beautiful and serves the most delicious food. Flavourful, modern, hearty. The cabins are sweet, spotlessly clean, and have perfect touches here and there that make it so cozy. The bathroom is modern, with a lovely claw foot tub and shower attachment. The furniture and the bed are soft and comfy. You will not miss the TV, trust me! All you need is the quiet front porch and a good book. We brought a 10 and 7 year old, we had fun reading, colouring and playing Laura Ingalls Wilder. It was a perfect last night in Banff, peaceful and different from the usual waterslide and YTV evenings we had on the rest of the vacation. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: If you don't want to see/hear all the new arrivals, ask for a cabin near the back of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.