We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful gem in the mountains!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Lynnwood, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful gem in the mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've just returned from a two night stay at Storm Mountain Lodge in the Banff National Park and I can't express what a lovely time we had! Despite the rather sour reviews I've read elsewhere, we experienced NONE of the negatives and ALL of the positives. The staff was delightful, accommodating and endearing, the property was gorgeous and the cabins themselves were adorable - just the place for a quiet and peaceful get-a-way in a unique setting. The fireplace added just the right touch - what could be better than falling asleep with a crackling fire on a cool end of summer evening! The food at the Lodge was fairly priced, generous, well-prepared, presentation was flawless and the food itself was first rate - we ALL had incredible meals with no complaints (and I'm the picky foodie!) I wouldn't hesitate to return again. There were NO spiders in the room (but keep in mind, you are in the mountains), the rooms were clean and presentable, and the grounds were lovely.

Room Tip: While there is some highway noise if a large truck should pass by, you rarely hear anything, so any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    41
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
16
113
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at Storm Mountain Lodge many times; and I have also stopped many times for lunch en route to the Columbia Valley. We stopped there yesterday for a quick bite to eat and were once again not disappointed. I had a the bison burger - moist and perfectly cooked with a lovely green salad. My partner had the seafood chowder, which I think has been on the menu for years - and no wonder - it was delicious. I ordered a glass of wine which unfortunately was far too sweet for my taste; I returned it and ordered something different - no extra charge. Very pleasant wait staff. If you find yourself en route for Calgary and you're feeling peckish this is the place to make a stop! I

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Storm Mountain Lodge is our favourite getaway - the historic buildings have been revamped for winter comfort, and the local skiing & hiking are amazing! The original cabins have stone fireplaces while the newer ones have gas, but all have modern plumbing with showers & tubs. The beds are very comfortable and the quilts keep you warm on the coldest of days - even in January! Some reviews mention highway noise but we find Cabin #2 to be very quiet. There are no cooking facilities so eating in the lodge's restaurant is a must, but the breakfasts (around $12) are wonderful. Try Chef Jeremy's scones - they're the best I've ever had. If you stay the weekend, you must dine there too - Jeremy's creations are the tastiest in the Rockies!

Room Tip: We like Cabin #2 - it just seems the coziest to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We loved the experience of staying at Storm Mountain Lodge, and it is truly an experience. The Lodge is uniquely beautiful and serves the most delicious food. Flavourful, modern, hearty. The cabins are sweet, spotlessly clean, and have perfect touches here and there that make it so cozy. The bathroom is modern, with a lovely claw foot tub and shower attachment. The furniture and the bed are soft and comfy. You will not miss the TV, trust me! All you need is the quiet front porch and a good book. We brought a 10 and 7 year old, we had fun reading, colouring and playing Laura Ingalls Wilder. It was a perfect last night in Banff, peaceful and different from the usual waterslide and YTV evenings we had on the rest of the vacation. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: If you don't want to see/hear all the new arrivals, ask for a cabin near the back of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Sitting on the rocking chair on the cabin porch surrounded by tall trees could have been lovely, except for the sound of the constant summer traffic going up the highway just 20 feet away. The cabin we were in, number 14, was designed poorly with the lumpy double bed up against the wall and so close to the bathroom, so that depending what side of the bed you were on, you would either bump your elbows into a wall or the bathroom door. For over $250/night, I expected more comfort. The best thing about the place was that the fireplace kindling and wood was perfectly laid out that anyone could get a nice fire going with just one match. The food was good with a great assortment of vegetables on the plate, if not for the overcooked halibut. We had a delicious breakfast with fresh berries, sat down and paid for our coffee which was fine But what irked me was they charge guests for a cup of coffee to go. Why not make it complimentary? This place has lots of great reviews - maybe someone can recommend other cabin numbers that are isolated from the noise on the highway and have more comfortable beds and rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Storm Mountain Lodge is a perfect cabin and lodge getaway. Very well maintained and the lodge building itself is a gem. Very friendly people run this lodge and you can tell they are happy to be there which translates into happy guests. I loved everything about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place is located on highway 93. The Trans Canadian Highway and the Bow Valley Parkway are only a few miles. Castle Junction has a gas station and a small store just before Bow Valley Parkway. Storm Mt. Lodge is a short drive to Banff and Lake Louise. The food here is very good the smoked salmon omlete, bluberry cobbler, organic chicken are all good choices. Caroline who is the Manager/ waiter,front desk, concierge, and tour guide was very attentive to the needs of all.The cabins are small but clean and efficent. The cabin was in need of a new mattress ours had a big valley in the middle. The soap bars are the smallest I have ever encountered very annoying when you are paying over $200 a night. The maid would leave the door open when cleaning and we would have flys to kill at night. If you are looking for good food in a unique setting this is a good choice for a couple of nights we stayed for a week which is too long because the menu does not change and the you are limited unless you drive to banff or Lake Louise.

Room Tip: choose a cabin that does not front highway 93 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list