We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Camden, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is our 6th stay at this wonderful accommodation located centrally to Banff shops and services. It was as enjoyable as ever, Lynne and Eckii's hospitality is so welcoming when we are so far awy from Australia. We always stay in the Rundle room located at the front of the house with a great view of the mountain. The room is extremely comfortable especially with its own fire place and lounge chairs. But the most important start to the day before skiing or snow mobiling is the delightful and delicious breakfast Lynne prepares, she may even share a recipe with you, our favourite this week was Nest eggs. Defnitely looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    25
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
89
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the moment we arrive we felt like we were interfering and intruding on Lyn's home.
Upon arrival we were directed to put on her used slippers and immediately directed to our room. My questions of recommendation of outings and restaurants were ignored as we were directed to a pile of brochures in the hall way. Breakfast was served by Lyn with no interaction what so ever. We paid cash and were not issued a official receipt, rather a hand written note with no date or appropriate details. This was the exception to our B+B experience for our other wise wonderful B+B experience for Canada and Alaska.

Room Tip: this is a last resort accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A quiet location 5 minutes’ walk from the main street; comfortable, immaculately-clean rooms, furnished with good taste and an eye for charming antiques and local crafts; satisfying and perfectly-cooked breakfasts with a different hot dish each day…if this sounds appealing, you’ll appreciate the value offered by Mountain Home B&B. As a bonus, you can benefit from Lynne’s experienced advice about the Banff area and enjoy comparing notes with the other guests at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Mountain Home is a lovely B and B with quality furnishings and amenities. It is located in an excellent part of the city in easy walking distance to the commercial parts of Banff. Breakfasts were good and varied by day. There are many positive reviews of this B and B and despite its location and qualify, I would not stay there again. Other reviewers have commented on taking your shoes off at the front door which as someone from a muddy, snowy, location is not unusual. What is unusual in not being allowed to roll your roller suitcases over the floors.
Breakfast was served with the kitchen door closed and little or no interaction with the hostess. When we asked about places to eat we were referred to the dining guide where some guests had put annotations next to restaurants they liked. Now she has lived there for a long time, wouldn’t you think some local knowledge would be welcomed and offered? One of the reasons you stay at a B and B is to get the local knowledge and friendliness of the host/hostess; there was none here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for six nights as we wanted to do some hiking in the Rockies. Beautiful bedroom and bathroom, the most comfortable and huge bed and breakfasts were delicious. This B&B is only five minutes walk from the main street in Banff yet very quiet overnight.

We had to take our shoes off in the hallway and some slippers were provided but many looked like they had already been worn by others so best to take your own. Didn't find it easy to "connect" with Lynne but she seemed to warm to us after six nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

...we left somewhat confused as never really experienced Lynne's hospitality over our three night stay. She was pleasant enough but never instigated a conversation (even when opening the front door upon our arrival) or explained about our room, the facilities in the B&B or indeed what there was in the town. This left us feeling intrusive when we asked about where a couple of things were. Breakfast was perfectly fine it was no better than scores of others we have enjoyed over the years and again there was no interaction between hostess and guests. It was left to us to make sightseeing suggestions and restaurant recommendations to each other.

Having said that the location just a couple of blocks from downtown and it's shops and restaurants was hard to beat and our room was welcoming, comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you search for an excellent B&B close to Banff town center, but enough far away to have a quite room and an own parking lot for your car, Lynne's Mountain Home B&B is perfect. Elegant and Banff-Style rooms with a king size bed and a huge bathrooom. Especially the breakfast makes it worth to stay here. Start your day with fresh fruits and a glass of orange juice, choose between different cereals, yoghurt or jams. Of course you have to try the daily warm treat (one day sweet, one day tasty). Enjoy to sit with the other guests at the table and discuss the best places in Banff National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Banff
Mountain Home b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.