We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rita-Mike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2nd night at half price
Ranked #5 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rita-Mike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We enjoyed a three night stay at this lovely home which is only a few minutes walk away from the main street. Room and en-suite very comfortable and homely with communal tea & coffee making facilities and fridge just outside the bedrooms. Lynne provided excellent home cooked breakfasts and delighted us with something different each morning. She was an excellent host and very helpful. Our grateful thanks to her for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    24
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

From our 1st email enquiry, Lynne&Eckie were the first to respond, and in all communications ( especially as we were going to arrive late evening) they were efficient,polite and very very helpful. The accommodation is in a quiet residential area with Banff main street only minutes walk away. Bow river a short walkable distance too. The room and the en-suite was spotlessly clean and well equipped. A coffee machine and kettle at the top of the stairs was a very welcome attribute. Breakfast was in a lovely downstairs room with a well laid out table. It was nice to have different people from different places to chat to over breakfast. The breakfast was varied and plentiful, no need to start your day hungry. Top,top accommodation and if we ever returned to Banff - we would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: feel that they all will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

No shoes policy was no problem for us. We had this on more than one occasion during our trip. At least here the host had slippers that could be adjusted for width so I could get my feet into them. The house is beautiful and the decor great, It felt very much home from home. The bedroom that we had was on the front of the house with a good view of Rundle Mountain. It was very comfortable with nice linen and towels. The bathroom was a good size with a good bath and shower. On the landing there were tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge for guest use. The breakfast was good with fresh fruit,cereals and a hot main course.
The excellent position of the house is just two blocks off Banff Avenue where the shops and restaurants are situated.
A very enjoyable two night stay in a nice home with a helpful and pleasant host Lynne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Mountain Home B&B does not get my highest rating due to its "no shoes" policy. I understand that many people embrace this concept, but it is not a practice that my husband and I appreciate when we are traveling. After completing a long drive and arriving laden with luggage, we were asked to hunker down in a cramped entry hall with other guests and remove our shoes and replace them with spa slippers before we would be taken to our rooms. On the plus side, the B&B itself, and our room were pristine, comfortable, and well-maintained. The bedding was very high quality, and the breakfast was home-made and quite good. The best feature of the B&B is its terrific location--in a residential neighborhood, but just a 5-minute walk to shops and restaurants. The innkeeper was pleasant, but not particularly friendly or facilitative, rather unlike the congenial hosts that we have come to expect from other B&B experiences.

Room Tip: The upstairs king room in the front of the home was nice. There was a communal coffee maker and sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Mountain Home and even though we had to change rooms due to a previous booking, we were moved without any fuss and very happy in both rooms. Lynne was a lovely host and the breakfasts kept us going all day. The location to the main street was within crawling distance and we had lots of good advice on where to eat, what to see and do.....we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Mountain Home B & B! The room was large & comfortable and Lynne is a lovely hostess. Especially memorable were the two large, delicious breakfasts around a welcoming table. We met and talked to other guests from all over the world. Lynne also has great information about what to see & do. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Mountain Home was our first stop on a Canadian road trip. We found it to be a perfect location in Banff literally only a few minutes walk from the main street. The accommodation is clean, friendly and the bed in the Rundle room is very good. The hostess is Lynn and she makes a lovely breakfast which more than sets you up for the day. She is also a font of good information to enable you to get the most out of your stay. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rundle room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Banff
Mountain Home Hotel
Mountain Home b&b
Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.