We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"No Shoes" Policy a Problem for Us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Santa Clarita, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"No Shoes" Policy a Problem for Us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Mountain Home B&B does not get my highest rating due to its "no shoes" policy. I understand that many people embrace this concept, but it is not a practice that my husband and I appreciate when we are traveling. After completing a long drive and arriving laden with luggage, we were asked to hunker down in a cramped entry hall with other guests and remove our shoes and replace them with spa slippers before we would be taken to our rooms. On the plus side, the B&B itself, and our room were pristine, comfortable, and well-maintained. The bedding was very high quality, and the breakfast was home-made and quite good. The best feature of the B&B is its terrific location--in a residential neighborhood, but just a 5-minute walk to shops and restaurants. The innkeeper was pleasant, but not particularly friendly or facilitative, rather unlike the congenial hosts that we have come to expect from other B&B experiences.

Room Tip: The upstairs king room in the front of the home was nice. There was a communal coffee maker and sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    27
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
95
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Mountain Home and even though we had to change rooms due to a previous booking, we were moved without any fuss and very happy in both rooms. Lynne was a lovely host and the breakfasts kept us going all day. The location to the main street was within crawling distance and we had lots of good advice on where to eat, what to see and do.....we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Mountain Home B & B! The room was large & comfortable and Lynne is a lovely hostess. Especially memorable were the two large, delicious breakfasts around a welcoming table. We met and talked to other guests from all over the world. Lynne also has great information about what to see & do. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Mountain Home was our first stop on a Canadian road trip. We found it to be a perfect location in Banff literally only a few minutes walk from the main street. The accommodation is clean, friendly and the bed in the Rundle room is very good. The hostess is Lynn and she makes a lovely breakfast which more than sets you up for the day. She is also a font of good information to enable you to get the most out of your stay. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rundle room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay in Banff. Lynne is a delightful hostess as well as breakfast cook and exceptionally helpful guiding us to sights in the area. Our rooms were immaculate and totally comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Mountain Home B&B was our third place during our 1-week adventure to Banff park and the best one I've ever stayed so far. A spacious room fraught with antique furniture and a huge comfortable bed made us wow and feel at home. Everything was clean and well-kept. The owners-Lynne and Ecki- were super generous and warm-hearted to their in-house guests. Other than many other virtues, I must mention about hot breakfast cooked and served by Lynne. I felt like having a breakfast at the table of a long-lost friend's place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a great time in this wonderful B&B right in downtown Banff. The room is spacious, well-organized, with a large king size bed and full bathroom included. I must admit having a tv with satellite was also much appreciated after skiing hard all day. We slept like babies and were treated to a top-notch hot breakfast every morning. I highly recommend the place and Lynn's wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Banff
Mountain Home b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.