We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Mountain Home B & B! The room was large & comfortable and Lynne is a lovely hostess. Especially memorable were the two large, delicious breakfasts around a welcoming table. We met and talked to other guests from all over the world. Lynne also has great information about what to see & do. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    25
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
83
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Mountain Home was our first stop on a Canadian road trip. We found it to be a perfect location in Banff literally only a few minutes walk from the main street. The accommodation is clean, friendly and the bed in the Rundle room is very good. The hostess is Lynn and she makes a lovely breakfast which more than sets you up for the day. She is also a font of good information to enable you to get the most out of your stay. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rundle room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay in Banff. Lynne is a delightful hostess as well as breakfast cook and exceptionally helpful guiding us to sights in the area. Our rooms were immaculate and totally comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Mountain Home B&B was our third place during our 1-week adventure to Banff park and the best one I've ever stayed so far. A spacious room fraught with antique furniture and a huge comfortable bed made us wow and feel at home. Everything was clean and well-kept. The owners-Lynne and Ecki- were super generous and warm-hearted to their in-house guests. Other than many other virtues, I must mention about hot breakfast cooked and served by Lynne. I felt like having a breakfast at the table of a long-lost friend's place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a great time in this wonderful B&B right in downtown Banff. The room is spacious, well-organized, with a large king size bed and full bathroom included. I must admit having a tv with satellite was also much appreciated after skiing hard all day. We slept like babies and were treated to a top-notch hot breakfast every morning. I highly recommend the place and Lynn's wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Having stayed in a variety of hotels in Banff over the years, my son recommended this wonderful B+B near his home. We stayed for a had a seven night stay and I much preferred the hospitality, food, comfort and facilities provided by Lynne and Ecki even to the great Banff Springs.
Warm house, big very comfy bed, very clean spacious bathroom with plentiful hot water and tub, all essential after a long day skiing. We had a large fire in our room with comfortable sitting area and cableTV, again excellent for relaxing before dinner.Eclectic collection of ski and Canadian antiques throughout the house. Tea and coffee available with fridge for your snacks on the landing.
Ideal location only two blocks off Banff avenue, with easy parking on the road and behind the house.
Different delicious breakfast every morning with fellow guests, ended by Lynne joining us for a cup of tea and a chat with tips on where to ski and eat.
Deer seen walking down Muskrat Street and great mountain views.
I would thoroughly recommend Mountain Home for your holiday.

Room Tip: Rundel Room at front of house spacious with big window and fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Every year we revisit Banff to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We usually stay in one of the big hotels, but since we've had good luck with B&B's around the world, we thought why not try one closer to home. We were so pleasantly surprised. Mountain Home B&B is only two blocks from Banff avenue, so we walked everywhere. Lynn suggested a lovely restaurant that we hadn't tried before. (Ticino. Yummy chocolate fondue.) The room was large and cozy with an updated ensuite bathroom. King size bed was comfy and there was even a wood burning fireplace in the room. Breakfast both days was filling and tasty. (blueberry pancakes and baked eggs in a ham cup) We will definately revisit this lovely B&B next year.

Room Tip: All three bedrooms have an ensuite and are very large. The Rundle room had the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Banff
Mountain Home b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.