We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, bkfast & rms, but think can get better value for money elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2nd night at half price
Ranked #5 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good location, bkfast & rms, but think can get better value for money elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

To be honest, we didn't really feel that welcome when we arrived at Mountain B & B (I felt that perhaps Lynne wasn't in a good mood the day that we arrived).

The decor in the room that we stayed in was nice and the common areas are kept very tidy. We were told that if you are staying in the Norquay room (facing Muskrat Street), you may need to shut the windows at night because there can be noise coming from the street and sounds travel at night.

The breakfast was nice. Breakfast is self-serve. Lynne offered different hot items each day that we stayed. You get a few choices of cereal, fresh fruit/fruit salad, bread and condiments for the bread and one hot item (like scones and waffles). Lynne has a lot of quality literature available to guests to use regarding the area and we (and the other guests) found that useful during the time of our stay. Lynne has good knowledge of the area as well, so for those who don't know the area, she is a good source of knowledge.

Lynne has strict rules with regards to shoes in that you must take off your shoes in her place. Also, Lynne is very strict about breakfast times. From my experience, she will only serve breakfast between certain times during the peak season. I am not sure whether she is more accommodating during the off season.

The decor is nice, location is central and breakfast is nice, so if you are looking for above average accommodation, you will get it here. However, if you are really wanting value for money and from our experience someone who will go out of the way to really help you, I don't feel that you really get it here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — could be noisy
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    24
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
colin the caribou
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

An unforgettable experience.We arrived late (9.30pm)with appologies to Lynne who was very gracious about it,were shown to the Norquay room which was beautiful and had a good night's sleep on a very comfortable bed.Breakfast was a choice of cereals,toast,delicious home made jams or special home made cooked items(and Lynne is a very good cook).It is about a five minute walk to the town and easy to avoid the present roadworks on the main street if you wish to travel further afield.We booked the accomodation over the internet so did not really know what to expect,but we enjoyed our six nights there and have no hesitation in recomending it to anyone wishing a more intimate,reasonably priced B&B.

  • Liked — Intimate atmosphere,friendliness,cleanliness&good food
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2005 in this very comfortable B&B. The rooms were all immaculate with huge beds. Lynne (hostess) was welcoming and very informative of what to do and where to eat in the area. The only problem was trying to get to check in within the restricted check in times (we we 20mins late, but Lynne was v. understanding!).

Her breakfasts were great, lots of choice and a continual supply delicious blueberry pancakes!

It is located 5 mins from the town centre, so perfect location if you want a night out in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefish
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

The facility is about a block off the river and Banff Avenue. Spotless (take shoes off) and very comfortable. Breakfast was pleasant and more than filling.
Would stay here again. Book early. Oh, dinner at Georgio's was brilliant.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2004

Great house! Could not be in a more convenient location in downtown Banff! all the rooms have king size beds and private baths and the breakfast is yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Banff
Mountain Home Hotel
Mountain Home b&b
Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.