We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We didn't know what to suspect when we booked. Location was an easy walk to the center of town. Parking was available and free. Breakfast good. The room was very spacious and clean. The staff was okay, not super friendly. They have tourist information readily available.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    136
    101
    32
    17
See reviews for
64
160
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Devon, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Room was very small but clean. Suitable for just the 2 of you, however I wouldn't stay with our kids. A short walk to the main street area, which was nice. Breakfast was disappointing. There was nowhere to sit so we shared with another couple. It would have been nice to have some waffles or pancakes as an option. Not just cereal or toast. The fruit bowl was a nice touch though. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Eugene, Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Thank goodness we had a second day in Banff and another chance to make up for our first night. This cute little hotel, had everything the Banff Park Lodge didn't....parking, internet service and Continental Breakfast INCLUDED. I still don't understand why this can't be at every destination spot. We had fresh fruit, bagels, toast and cereal offered to us. We had plans for lunch later in Lake Louise so this is just what we needed to get us on the road! The desk clerk went over and above to help make us feel welcomed including his recommendation for dinner that night and where not to go for after dinner activities.

Room Tip: Highly recommend this place. It's away from the hustle and bustle but walking distance to anywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

For what they charge, you think you'll be serenaded by dancing girls with bottles of champagne. Not so much. Very basic room. Clean and quiet but bare. Continental breakfast was a joke. Raisin Bran, bagels and the world's crappiest coffee. Free WiFi, walking distance to town center. This area is expensive and if you're looking to save a few $$, stay down the road in Canmore instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Parish, Bermuda
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The room was so bad...very old and dated. So obvious that the owners have never reinvested in the property. Stayed there only because they had A/C but that barely worked. The only good thing was the location; it is a short walk to downtown Banff. THE CLINCHER WAS THAT THE MAID LEFT OUR DOOR OPEN. Thank goodness nothing was stolen from our room. When I reported this fact to the front desk, they appeared to not be surprised which led me to believe this sort of thing has happened before...maybe often! Please avoid this hotel if you know what is good for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We originally chose this hotel for a holiday last year as it is opposite our son's house share and really convenient for visiting.
We came back this year because we had such a lovely stay last year. The facilities are all that you could need - large comfy beds, fridge, aircon, free wifi, safe, large TV, tea and filter coffee and a good 'help yourself' breakfast. We stayed in the same room and it was evident that the main bedroom had been redecorated.
The staff were friendly and the whole atmosphere was welcoming. Made a good homey base for our family visit - would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have a better view of the mountains but do overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Positives: friendly and courteous staff, great location, mostly clean room, comfortable bed but squeeky
Negatives: How much time and effort would it take to glue down the peeling wallpaper in bathroom? Also, to put in 4 light bulbs on the bathroom light bar that match? (one was burned out) Sometimes it's the little things that make all the difference. Breakfast was a disappointment--nothing hot...cereal, toast, bagels. No yogurt. However, they did have apples, oranges and bananas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.