We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least the beds are comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At least the beds are comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Positives: clean rooms and comfortable beds. Room had a balcony.

Negatives: outlets in the room worked poorly - plugs would just fall out of them. No outlet along the wall behind the bed which made the lamp and alarm clock quite useless. Balcony view was blocked by trees immediately beside the building and there was garbage on the balcony.

Decent for the price but a little rough around the edges.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    136
    100
    32
    17
See reviews for
64
160
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I know hotels aren't cheap in Banff, especially in the summer, but this was a disappointment. It was clean enough but the lobby and rooms are run down. The shower drain was clogged and there was an old toothpaste cap stuck in our sink drain. Wallpaper was peeling. Next time I'll spend the extra money to stay somewhere nicer.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The room was ok, but nothing special. Older decor and carpet. Tiny bathroom and narrow hallways. A small balcony was a nice bonus, but the parking is under the hotel and no elevator from the parking area to the main floor of the hotel. Breakfast is adequate and the pool and hot tub that you get to use next door are fine. I have found hotels in Canada to be much more expensive than the US and not of great quality. We paid $150 a night US for this stay, and it was not a great value. The one positive is the location. Easy walking distance to downtown Banff where there is fabulous shopping and lots of restaurants. I would only stay here again if I couldn't find a better reviewed hotel at this price in the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We always stayed here Sunday/Mondays because those are the days we had off work. Hotel is always a fair price (for the days we stay) and rooms have always been clean and beds are comfy. Staff is always very friendly and remember our group. Good location!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The room we had a this hotel was very shabby and in need of refurbishing. We left the hotel each morning between 9 -9.30am returning at 4.30pm and on both days our room had not been serviced. The breakfast was basic, if you like eating out of polystyrene bowls, plates and cups and using plastic cutlery then you were alright. The under ground car park was like a builders yard and there was no lift from the car park to the hotel. The only good point was the location, easy access walking into Banff. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited Banff in June and spent five nights at the Red Carpet Inn. We had a very spacious room. When we checked in we were told it was a "light" continental breakfast. So, we were expecting just bread and a toaster(yes, we have been places where this is the case)but they had cereal, breads, bagels, juices, coffee and tea. It was plenty to get us started. Very close to downtown Banff. The staff was very friendly. There is no laundry room on site but you can use the laundry room at their sister property next door(along with the work out room). We had a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains out on our balcony. Although free, the Wi-Fi is very slow, unless you took your computer down to the lobby!

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the hotel and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was within walking distance to downtown. The rooms were clean and big. Nice beds, comforter and pillows, and big TV. People and staff were very nice. They have a nice underground parking that is safe and secure and private. Breakfast was ok. It was continental.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.