We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We always stayed here Sunday/Mondays because those are the days we had off work. Hotel is always a fair price (for the days we stay) and rooms have always been clean and beds are comfy. Staff is always very friendly and remember our group. Good location!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    140
    105
    34
    17
See reviews for
66
169
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The room we had a this hotel was very shabby and in need of refurbishing. We left the hotel each morning between 9 -9.30am returning at 4.30pm and on both days our room had not been serviced. The breakfast was basic, if you like eating out of polystyrene bowls, plates and cups and using plastic cutlery then you were alright. The under ground car park was like a builders yard and there was no lift from the car park to the hotel. The only good point was the location, easy access walking into Banff. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited Banff in June and spent five nights at the Red Carpet Inn. We had a very spacious room. When we checked in we were told it was a "light" continental breakfast. So, we were expecting just bread and a toaster(yes, we have been places where this is the case)but they had cereal, breads, bagels, juices, coffee and tea. It was plenty to get us started. Very close to downtown Banff. The staff was very friendly. There is no laundry room on site but you can use the laundry room at their sister property next door(along with the work out room). We had a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains out on our balcony. Although free, the Wi-Fi is very slow, unless you took your computer down to the lobby!

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the hotel and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was within walking distance to downtown. The rooms were clean and big. Nice beds, comforter and pillows, and big TV. People and staff were very nice. They have a nice underground parking that is safe and secure and private. Breakfast was ok. It was continental.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I have been visitors to Banff in October annually since 1976, with the exception of the odd Fall trip to Mexico.
Each and every year we have stayed at the Red Carpet Inn. We have seen it grow from a single floor atypical motel to the current three story welcoming establishment overseen by Mr. Irwin himself, who always had time to talk with his guests.
Over the years we have seen some staff changes(inevitable), all of whom have left us with wonderful memories, especially "Geraldine" who would always welcome us with open arms!
The current staff has obviously been chosen for the same traits. This became apparent when I booked last Fall (and the upcoming one as well) my reservation was signed by Angela Towler, Front Desk Agent and then signed off with *Awsome*. great sense of humour. The only downside to our visits has been the passing of Mr. Irwin in 2012, a great entrepreneur lost.
Go and enjoy the Red Carpet Inn as we have many times!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights after booking on line directly with the hotel. We also showed our CAA card for a further discount. The prices were very good and we were pleasantly surprised to have a small balcony with a street view. The service was excellent-very friendly and helpful. The location was terrific. We were visiting family and could walk everywhere. It was great to be right down town. We parked our rental car at the hotel and enjoyed walking around Banff. The continental breakfast that was included made a smooth start to the day. Free wi-fi was another bonus. We will come back if we are in Banff again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the elevator and if there is a street view balcony that's a nice add on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The location is very good, you can get everywhere by walking. The hotel itself could use some renovation. But it is clean, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok and comfy very good to stay for the night, it was just very loud. You could hear the come and go of guests next door at night. We were a bit disapointed with the plastic and paper service they had for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.