We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our holiday home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I have been visitors to Banff in October annually since 1976, with the exception of the odd Fall trip to Mexico.
Each and every year we have stayed at the Red Carpet Inn. We have seen it grow from a single floor atypical motel to the current three story welcoming establishment overseen by Mr. Irwin himself, who always had time to talk with his guests.
Over the years we have seen some staff changes(inevitable), all of whom have left us with wonderful memories, especially "Geraldine" who would always welcome us with open arms!
The current staff has obviously been chosen for the same traits. This became apparent when I booked last Fall (and the upcoming one as well) my reservation was signed by Angela Towler, Front Desk Agent and then signed off with *Awsome*. great sense of humour. The only downside to our visits has been the passing of Mr. Irwin in 2012, a great entrepreneur lost.
Go and enjoy the Red Carpet Inn as we have many times!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    135
    99
    33
    16
See reviews for
65
159
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights after booking on line directly with the hotel. We also showed our CAA card for a further discount. The prices were very good and we were pleasantly surprised to have a small balcony with a street view. The service was excellent-very friendly and helpful. The location was terrific. We were visiting family and could walk everywhere. It was great to be right down town. We parked our rental car at the hotel and enjoyed walking around Banff. The continental breakfast that was included made a smooth start to the day. Free wi-fi was another bonus. We will come back if we are in Banff again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the elevator and if there is a street view balcony that's a nice add on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The location is very good, you can get everywhere by walking. The hotel itself could use some renovation. But it is clean, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok and comfy very good to stay for the night, it was just very loud. You could hear the come and go of guests next door at night. We were a bit disapointed with the plastic and paper service they had for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My room was what I expected for this standard of hotel; it was comfy and clean. The breakfast is served with everything as disposable; paper plates, bowls, plastic cutlery . It was however the staff that make me say disappointing. There was no smile or welcome when I checked in, I almost felt a nuisance for disturbing the gentleman behind the counter. The lady organising breakfast seemed surprised when I said good morning, she wasn't going to say this to me without my prompt. When I checked out the lady behind the counter did not ask if if my stay was OK, she didn't look at me once, she just handed the bill over. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The location is great! No need to drive around town; simply park at the hotel and walk around the charming town. The room was spacious. The hotel decor is so so. I would recommend finding an online quote for the nightly rate. The in house rate was much higher than the online rate we found. Wi-fi is complimentary. There is complimentary breakfast which consists of bagels, English muffins, cereal, and beverage items. It was an overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is well situated for the town,but the bed was so close to the wall there was no room to get in.No bedside table or lamp as no room to put it.Noisy from the car park ,a member of staff came in our room at about 630am with a pass key and quickly left.The breakfast was self service but in polystyrine bowls and cups. plastic knife and spoon.The staff were helpful but it was limited as to how they could change it..We were booked in for five nights but left after three.

Room Tip: Not near the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. Unfortunately (from our perspective) there was a major bicycle competition happening the weekend we were there and I expect that was why, firstly, we had trouble finding a room in Banff and secondly, why the cost seemed high.

Our room was on the ground floor of the Inn with our windows viewing the front, or rear, of vehicles parked in the raised carpark. No mountain views there! The room itself was only of an average size with not a lot of floor space available after we had opened our suitcases.

The room contained a table and 2 sofa chairs, a king-sized bed, a buffet unit with drawers underneath and a TV on top, coffee/tea facilities, a refrigerator and a safe. Complimentary wifi was also available in the room. The room rate included a simple continental breakfast comprising cereals and bread/toast with various condiments.

The inn was located on the edge of the town, about 10 mins walk away, so very handy.

I thought the room and services were fine but overpriced and I have rated the Inn accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.