We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star for the value and price you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“5 star for the value and price you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for 8 night in early March. I was just expecting a clean place to stay in a good location and it was that and more. Staff were all friendly. Location a few minutes walk (about 2-3 blocks) to the centre of town. Rooms were much larger than I expected (I had family suite for 3 of us). Rooms and hotel all clean. Based on some reviews stating place looks old / run down etc I was expecting it to look a lot more dated, smell etc but it was great. Felt very clean. Beds comfortable. Big TV, heater and air con. Only went to breakfast a few days but its all you need to get you started. Toasts, cereal etc. Free wifi worked great was always fast and never dropped out. Ski shuttles leave from hotel either side of the Red Carpet. 100% would recommend this hotel for someone who wants a cheap easy convenient place to stay in a good location. Would definitely stay here again myself. I may even be back in a few months. Usually am a solo traveller. Did this trip with friends so was incredibly cheap. Also very affordable to stay here on my own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank-you for your kind review. Our goal is to provide quality accommodation for less! Look forward to having you back.

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    136
    101
    32
    17
See reviews for
64
160
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the RCI for 3 weeks while in Banff. The hotel is clean, in a perfect location, has great amenities and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Angela, Breeda and Jason went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We will be definitely staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I am so glad that you had a terrific long term stay! I will pass on the encouraging feedback to my staff. Look forward to seeing you guys again.

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi N.b.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This older property offers very good value if one doesn't worry about having everything new and shiny.
- good sized, clean rooms offering more than the "basic" amenities
- good breakfast offered in a pleasant dining area off front lobby
-very polite and helpful desk staff
-great location, slightly away from the downtown section, so a short walk to shops and most restaurants.
- my biggest negative would be the shabby appearance of the back entrance and elevator area; this could definitely stand a facelift
- this was our third stay and we will return on our next stop in Banff

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Red Carpet Inn for 4 nights to enjoy the cross-country skiing in the Banff and Lake Louise areas in late February, 2014 (and at a great rate--about $60/night). We've stayed at the Red Carpet many times over the years and keep coming back. We had a quiet, clean, cozy room with a comfortable bed and pillows; very important for us 60ish folks! The hot tub was perfect, and on our floor. Their continental breakfast kept us going all day. We appreciated the great location to be able to walk to the restaurants and stores, while our car stayed warm in the underground parking garage in the sub-zero temperatures. We highly recommend the Red Carpet!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Folks,

Thank-you so much, for your continued patronage over the years. Look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

While in Banff we stayed at the Red Carpet Inn and Jamie was working the front counter when we checked in and checked out. After we had arrived home we received a phone call from Jamie saying that housekeeping had found an apple cord in our room after we had left. Even though it was not our cord I was very impressed that Jamie phoned us thinking it was ours.

Room Tip: The rooms are looking a bit old but since we are only in the room to sleep it really doesn't mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed at the RCI for 3 nights in mid Feb 2014. Yes, the place is not a 5 star hotel. The lobby, the floors and even elevator are not in perfect condition and show wear and tear. BUT, for what we paid, we were very happy with our stay. The room was plenty big, had a small out door balcony, had great heat, great water pressure, and we never ran out of hot water. And we took some long showers after a great day skiing. The wifi worked perfectly and was included. Check in was simple, and the place is 2 blocks from the main shopping street in Banff. In fact, there is a Safeway supermarket only 2 blocks away as well. We found the bed and pillows very comfortable. Even the breakfast, while somewhat boring and predictable, was sufficient. There was a selection of 4 juices, coffee, white/wheat bread for toast, bagels, 5 or 6 different cereals, and plenty of different jams/jellies. This Inn does not pretend to be luxurious and its rates are very reasonable. We paid $66/night (US) tax included for a room with two queen sized beds during the heart of ski season. If you expect luxury/upscale at this price, you really are not in touch with the world. Yes, the halls might not be brand new and smell a bit, the room layout a bit clunky, but overall, if you want a very affordable, clean and decent hotel to stay at in Banff, close to the action, this place fits the bill. A few other points, there is hourly train sounds at night, but this is not the hotel's problem, as the trains can be heard in much of the city. Also, bus rides to/from Lake Louise, Sunshine ski resorts leave from the hotel immediately next door, about 50 steps away!!! Can't get much easier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel is located in a prime area in Banff. Walking distance to many dining and shopping establishments. Rooms were clean and big enough for a family of four and all of our ski gear. Furnishings in good repair. Room had a coffee maker, refrigerator and hair dryer. Beds were very comfortable. We found the staff very courteous and willing to recommend local dining experiences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.