We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the nicest, but the price is right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Tulsa OK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not the nicest, but the price is right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed at the RCI for 3 nights in mid Feb 2014. Yes, the place is not a 5 star hotel. The lobby, the floors and even elevator are not in perfect condition and show wear and tear. BUT, for what we paid, we were very happy with our stay. The room was plenty big, had a small out door balcony, had great heat, great water pressure, and we never ran out of hot water. And we took some long showers after a great day skiing. The wifi worked perfectly and was included. Check in was simple, and the place is 2 blocks from the main shopping street in Banff. In fact, there is a Safeway supermarket only 2 blocks away as well. We found the bed and pillows very comfortable. Even the breakfast, while somewhat boring and predictable, was sufficient. There was a selection of 4 juices, coffee, white/wheat bread for toast, bagels, 5 or 6 different cereals, and plenty of different jams/jellies. This Inn does not pretend to be luxurious and its rates are very reasonable. We paid $66/night (US) tax included for a room with two queen sized beds during the heart of ski season. If you expect luxury/upscale at this price, you really are not in touch with the world. Yes, the halls might not be brand new and smell a bit, the room layout a bit clunky, but overall, if you want a very affordable, clean and decent hotel to stay at in Banff, close to the action, this place fits the bill. A few other points, there is hourly train sounds at night, but this is not the hotel's problem, as the trains can be heard in much of the city. Also, bus rides to/from Lake Louise, Sunshine ski resorts leave from the hotel immediately next door, about 50 steps away!!! Can't get much easier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    133
    98
    33
    16
See reviews for
64
158
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apex, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel is located in a prime area in Banff. Walking distance to many dining and shopping establishments. Rooms were clean and big enough for a family of four and all of our ski gear. Furnishings in good repair. Room had a coffee maker, refrigerator and hair dryer. Beds were very comfortable. We found the staff very courteous and willing to recommend local dining experiences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Red Carpet over the Family Day weekend; great value and location with very helpful and friendly staff! It is a short walk from plenty of great restaurants. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The price for this location and amount of comfort was excellent. Nice giant bed and soft pillows, access to Banff downtown within 5 min walking distance, hot tub. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Banff :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I don't usually write a review on a hotel but this needs to be said. It's a very run down hotel. My room had wall paper peeling off the wall , the ceiling had a huge patch like something leaked from above. It just looked liked everything was patched. My toilet also needed a plunge due to toilet paper not flushing , also passed another lady in the lobby who had a plunger. Bathroom had no hot water one morning. Called front desk and he came down and said just wait a bit maybe we will have some soon. Very inconvenient when you have to be somewhere. The hot tub didn't work and as far as continental breakfast that was a joke. No fruit, no yogurt , no oatmeal at the least. I atleast expected some kind of rebate on my room or a voucher for something. The red carpet inn does not care about their guests and I may take this to head office. Like I said I've never wrote a review before and I travel a lot for hockey tournaments so I hope this was helpful when choosing where you stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowy Mountains, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great location to all facilities in Banff. Rooms are clean, warm with plenty of room. The staff are extremely helpful. The continental breakfast is a bonus. I will recommend The Red Carpet Inn to everyone and will always stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Kerrie,

We thank-you for your kind review, and always appreciate it when our guests recommend our property to their friends and family!

Just for your information: We have recently completed 2 'Brand New' model rooms which will be the basis for our full room remodel this spring. The improvements are simply stunning, and we would love to have you back to experience even greater value.

Jeff Irwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a rough stay at the Red Carpet Inn. It started off with a very pleasant check in with a female Australian desk agent. She was very welcoming and informative about the festivities going on in Banff that weekend.
HOWEVER...the male agent working at night was absolutely atrocious. After exploring around the town of Banff we returned to our room to find that our bathroom had a maxi pad on the back of the toilette that did not belong to us. Instead of dealing with this immediately, the agent told us that he was in the middle of dinner... The experience with him did not improve after we waited for him. Sorry to inconvenience your staff Red Carpet Inn.
Needless to say, we won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.