We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shameful customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shameful customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a rough stay at the Red Carpet Inn. It started off with a very pleasant check in with a female Australian desk agent. She was very welcoming and informative about the festivities going on in Banff that weekend.
HOWEVER...the male agent working at night was absolutely atrocious. After exploring around the town of Banff we returned to our room to find that our bathroom had a maxi pad on the back of the toilette that did not belong to us. Instead of dealing with this immediately, the agent told us that he was in the middle of dinner... The experience with him did not improve after we waited for him. Sorry to inconvenience your staff Red Carpet Inn.
Needless to say, we won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    113
    78
    24
    14
See reviews for
52
122
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Fairly cheap accomodation in Banff! Very fast walk to the town! Room was clean and I found the in-room sink very handy as the sink in the bathroom was very small! I didn't like the first room they put us in as it was near the stairs (yay, foot traffic) but the staff was accommodating and put us in a better room! Breakfast was great - I don't eat breakfast food normally so it was good enough for us. The breakfast may be considered basic to others, but at least it's free. Would we stay here again? Yes. It was very affordable for a three night stay!

Room Tip: Don't choose room 120 - was very dingy looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We thank you for your review, we do pride ourselves on being Banff's most affordable accommodation, I'm glad that our staff was able to meet your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We didn't sleep in the hotel because of an error with our booking with expedia. Even if they didn't have a room available, they accomodated us anyway by sending us to another hotel. Then went beyond what they had to do. Thanks!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this lovely welcoming hotel for two nights and would gladly go back. The room was very warm and cosy, and the breakfast was very nice and put us on for a day of walking. Also you can use the facilities of the hotel next door. Which was very handy when we needed to do the laundry. It was also very peaceful and good value for money. Hopefully one day we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Well, we book it via Air Canada and the review was three out of five stars thinking it would be fine.

It turns out the room is a total dump. Noisy room and everything is just old. Is was fairly clean but I would let me bare feet touch the carpet lol.

I won't book a room here is you are looking for a romantic stay.

Breakfast was crap too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Rooms were warm, clean and comfortable, also quiet, plus the bed was very comfortable so we had a good night's sleep. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to be back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Got a good deal as we stayed here for 6 nights. Was a large comfortable room but a bit dated. Great views of the mountains. Free wifi. I wouldn't quite call it a continental breakfast but enough fuel for a morning skiing. Informative staff about condition of walking trails. Underground parking. Good walking distance into main shopping/eating area. Has a hot tub with lovely views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Hotel
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn
Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.