We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Got a good deal as we stayed here for 6 nights. Was a large comfortable room but a bit dated. Great views of the mountains. Free wifi. I wouldn't quite call it a continental breakfast but enough fuel for a morning skiing. Informative staff about condition of walking trails. Underground parking. Good walking distance into main shopping/eating area. Has a hot tub with lovely views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    132
    97
    33
    16
See reviews for
64
157
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is not bad to stay a few nights. The air inside the rooms feels dry and the continental breakfast leaves much to be desired but other than that the property is in average condition. The underground parkade is a dungeon too but it keeps the car warm on cold days. Good location, close to downtown Banff. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful. Overall we were satisfied the two nights we stayed at this hotel. Price was very good. We stayed there during Christmas.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the main street. It was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked this hotel while waiting in departures and couldn't believe the room price $65.00 so booked it to get a nights rest before a long drive. Certainly fulfilled that requirement but there are far nicer places to stay in Banff. That said ....reception staff was efficient, room was clean but bed not super comfy. Bathroom including towels was fine and the place was warm. Underground parking on site is always a plus but not accessible by elevator although there is only a short flight of steps. No bar or comfy lobby but all in all OK and for the price it was excellent! Short walk along Banff Avenue brings you to the hotels and restaurants of the town centre. I probably won't stay here again if I can get a room elsewhere for a few dollars more.

Room Tip: Room away from elevator and looking out over Mt. Norquay gave us a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel was comfortable, in easy walking distance of the Visitor Centre and Banff town centre but we were very disappointed. When we went last, some 10 years ago, there were Elk grazing on grass verges, and not far away we saw a Grizzly Bear, several black bears, numerous deer, osprey, musk rats and much more. This time we spent hours both driving and walking trails but our spotting was gophers, ground squirrels and ONE bighorn sheep, bored with all the cars stopping to take photos. Oh, and we stayed out well past dark to see if anything popped up when the cars had gone.
Go to Banff if you want to jog, cycle, or just admire the spectacular scenery. If you want great wildlife, try another country; the great plains of Kenya or even the Ethiopian highlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I needed a room for one night in Banff; price need to be affordable, parking and breakfast included. Prior this stay we stayed in several other properties in Banff and all of them were better despite same price range. This one need renovation.

It wasn’t busy day and checkin was instantaneous, may be due to Tuesday. To find parking spot was easy task – I already stayed in the next door Irwin hotel. Upon entrance I smelled strong odor from cleaning supply, not sure if it is permanent or it was my unlucky day.

My room on the first floor faced parking lot with floor a below surface; view - your face against bumper. Room looks small because of the king bed, in-room sink and huge all-in-one dresser-drawer-entertainment unit. Not sure why you need extra in-room sink in such small room with full bath already.
Hot tub on the second floor was just warm and can accommodate 6 persons and there is no sauna, nice to have one after ski day.
Fortunate thing – bed was comfortable and I slept well despite noisy old heater which actually kept room warm.
“Breakfast included”. I found cereal, bagels, sliced bread, jam/butter, juice and coffee. We had better one in the Super 8 or Best Western.

Checked out before 8am. And back to ski!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for four nights and found it to be good value for money. It can be a bit noisy at times if there are party-goers staying in the hotel, especially upstairs. The rooms and facilities were clean, the staff were helpful and included breakfast was an extra perk. Just a short walk to the tourist strip and central location.

Room Tip: Try and get the third level rooms, they are slightly bigger and have a great view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good value and well located, about three blocks from Banff's downtown core. The rooms are large and comfortable, the continental breakfast just adequate. Hotel is in the route of main sightseeing atractions, including the bus from Calgary airport, which is very convenient. Staff was friendly and the price was right. I do recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.