We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but no wildlife!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but no wildlife!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel was comfortable, in easy walking distance of the Visitor Centre and Banff town centre but we were very disappointed. When we went last, some 10 years ago, there were Elk grazing on grass verges, and not far away we saw a Grizzly Bear, several black bears, numerous deer, osprey, musk rats and much more. This time we spent hours both driving and walking trails but our spotting was gophers, ground squirrels and ONE bighorn sheep, bored with all the cars stopping to take photos. Oh, and we stayed out well past dark to see if anything popped up when the cars had gone.
Go to Banff if you want to jog, cycle, or just admire the spectacular scenery. If you want great wildlife, try another country; the great plains of Kenya or even the Ethiopian highlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Offa_Mercia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I needed a room for one night in Banff; price need to be affordable, parking and breakfast included. Prior this stay we stayed in several other properties in Banff and all of them were better despite same price range. This one need renovation.

It wasn’t busy day and checkin was instantaneous, may be due to Tuesday. To find parking spot was easy task – I already stayed in the next door Irwin hotel. Upon entrance I smelled strong odor from cleaning supply, not sure if it is permanent or it was my unlucky day.

My room on the first floor faced parking lot with floor a below surface; view - your face against bumper. Room looks small because of the king bed, in-room sink and huge all-in-one dresser-drawer-entertainment unit. Not sure why you need extra in-room sink in such small room with full bath already.
Hot tub on the second floor was just warm and can accommodate 6 persons and there is no sauna, nice to have one after ski day.
Fortunate thing – bed was comfortable and I slept well despite noisy old heater which actually kept room warm.
“Breakfast included”. I found cereal, bagels, sliced bread, jam/butter, juice and coffee. We had better one in the Super 8 or Best Western.

Checked out before 8am. And back to ski!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergAndTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for four nights and found it to be good value for money. It can be a bit noisy at times if there are party-goers staying in the hotel, especially upstairs. The rooms and facilities were clean, the staff were helpful and included breakfast was an extra perk. Just a short walk to the tourist strip and central location.

Room Tip: Try and get the third level rooms, they are slightly bigger and have a great view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good value and well located, about three blocks from Banff's downtown core. The rooms are large and comfortable, the continental breakfast just adequate. Hotel is in the route of main sightseeing atractions, including the bus from Calgary airport, which is very convenient. Staff was friendly and the price was right. I do recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and found it to be reasonably comfortable and a fair price. The room was average, no frills but adequate for a one night stay, though the trains were a little noisy! The hotel itself is in a good location but car parking is limited. Breakfast was average and not a lot of room available at busy times but the staff we spoke to were pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
274 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The best hotel I have stayed in my 45 days tour of Canada. The only hotel that do not charge a "security deposit" before you check-in. Cheap but the services and the facilities are worthy of a 5-star rating. The rooms are huge with twin queen, utterly comfortable beds and all the amenities that you may need to have a nice stay. Run by the members of a family, everyone of them are smiling and are always ready to welcome you, should you face any difficulties during your stay.
Bathrooms are great and rooms are made daily, toiletries and towels are replenished daily.
The hotel is bang on the main road of Banff and the bus stop is at the doorway.
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank-you for your kind response. We are honoured and delighted that your stay with us was among the best of your trip. It is our pleasure to provide quality accommodation at unspeakably great value in the heart of Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Good value hotel, comfortable beds. Breakfast adequate, but paper plates and plastic cutlery a real let down, how much effort would it take to do the dishes? The train hooting its whistle At 5 am was not good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#17 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#19 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#14 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing