We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but no wildlife!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Banff
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, but no wildlife!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel was comfortable, in easy walking distance of the Visitor Centre and Banff town centre but we were very disappointed. When we went last, some 10 years ago, there were Elk grazing on grass verges, and not far away we saw a Grizzly Bear, several black bears, numerous deer, osprey, musk rats and much more. This time we spent hours both driving and walking trails but our spotting was gophers, ground squirrels and ONE bighorn sheep, bored with all the cars stopping to take photos. Oh, and we stayed out well past dark to see if anything popped up when the cars had gone.
Go to Banff if you want to jog, cycle, or just admire the spectacular scenery. If you want great wildlife, try another country; the great plains of Kenya or even the Ethiopian highlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    121
    91
    26
    15
See reviews for
59
138
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I needed a room for one night in Banff; price need to be affordable, parking and breakfast included. Prior this stay we stayed in several other properties in Banff and all of them were better despite same price range. This one need renovation.

It wasn’t busy day and checkin was instantaneous, may be due to Tuesday. To find parking spot was easy task – I already stayed in the next door Irwin hotel. Upon entrance I smelled strong odor from cleaning supply, not sure if it is permanent or it was my unlucky day.

My room on the first floor faced parking lot with floor a below surface; view - your face against bumper. Room looks small because of the king bed, in-room sink and huge all-in-one dresser-drawer-entertainment unit. Not sure why you need extra in-room sink in such small room with full bath already.
Hot tub on the second floor was just warm and can accommodate 6 persons and there is no sauna, nice to have one after ski day.
Fortunate thing – bed was comfortable and I slept well despite noisy old heater which actually kept room warm.
“Breakfast included”. I found cereal, bagels, sliced bread, jam/butter, juice and coffee. We had better one in the Super 8 or Best Western.

Checked out before 8am. And back to ski!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for four nights and found it to be good value for money. It can be a bit noisy at times if there are party-goers staying in the hotel, especially upstairs. The rooms and facilities were clean, the staff were helpful and included breakfast was an extra perk. Just a short walk to the tourist strip and central location.

Room Tip: Try and get the third level rooms, they are slightly bigger and have a great view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good value and well located, about three blocks from Banff's downtown core. The rooms are large and comfortable, the continental breakfast just adequate. Hotel is in the route of main sightseeing atractions, including the bus from Calgary airport, which is very convenient. Staff was friendly and the price was right. I do recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and found it to be reasonably comfortable and a fair price. The room was average, no frills but adequate for a one night stay, though the trains were a little noisy! The hotel itself is in a good location but car parking is limited. Breakfast was average and not a lot of room available at busy times but the staff we spoke to were pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The best hotel I have stayed in my 45 days tour of Canada. The only hotel that do not charge a "security deposit" before you check-in. Cheap but the services and the facilities are worthy of a 5-star rating. The rooms are huge with twin queen, utterly comfortable beds and all the amenities that you may need to have a nice stay. Run by the members of a family, everyone of them are smiling and are always ready to welcome you, should you face any difficulties during your stay.
Bathrooms are great and rooms are made daily, toiletries and towels are replenished daily.
The hotel is bang on the main road of Banff and the bus stop is at the doorway.
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank-you for your kind response. We are honoured and delighted that your stay with us was among the best of your trip. It is our pleasure to provide quality accommodation at unspeakably great value in the heart of Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Good value hotel, comfortable beds. Breakfast adequate, but paper plates and plastic cutlery a real let down, how much effort would it take to do the dishes? The train hooting its whistle At 5 am was not good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.