We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to main street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Close to main street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

You are just a few blocks away from the main street of the community. There are plenty of places to eat and drink and yes shop. The room was large with a balcony, fridge, safe, wi-fi and microwave. There is a nice hot tub on the 2nd floor. Service was average and the breakfast good for an early morning start. The beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a better parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    117
    85
    26
    14
See reviews for
53
133
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is a little worn, but very comfortable. A/C is nice since most hotels in area dont have it and it was quite warm (for Banff). Bed was very good. Breakfast spartan, but adequate, and crowded if you walk in at 8AM. Parking a plus. Reception was very pleasant and helpful. Probably the best overall value in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We liked the location, cleanliness of the room and having stayed in multiple locations throughout Canada we were pleased with the comfort of the bed as it compared to other places we've stayed at. The only complaint is the free breakfast has very limited options but that's not too surprising since its free.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

In banff for my brother's wedding and had to book with short notice and with a dog in toe. Reasonably priced for banff - so expensive! But it's banff. Clean room. No complaints. Dog was easily accommodated by staff. Breakfast was included - basic continental style but enough to get by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at Red Carpet Inn recently found it very comfortable , Yvonne on reception very good. Breakfast area a little crowded if everyone turns up otherwise a very pleasant stay. Room with a balcony were excellent , maybe rooms could have a microwave. Close to town , walking distance to restaurants and shops .

Room Tip: A room with a balcony was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked a room at the Red Carpet in Banff for our 15 year anniversary. I told Yvonne (clerk) that we had a declawed cat we were bringing with us. I requested a balcony room overlooking Banff Avenue. She sent me a confirmation and the confirmation said nothing about the cat or the balcony. I phoned Yvonne back and reiterated we had a cat.... she said not to worry about it as she had put it in the computer. I also asked her again about the balcony as this too was not written on the confirmation. She said she cannot guarantee the balcony, but would recommend we arrive early and if a balcony is available... we would have it. We drove from Princeton to Banff and specifically left Princeton early with the hopes of arriving early in Banff to get a room with a balcony. Upon arrival, the General Manager looked in the computer and said that having a balcony room is not an option because we have a cat. The General Manager was not empathetic whatsoever to the fact that the Red Carpet was not standing behind what I had been told. Moral of the story... if you book a reservation and have a verbal or written confirmation, don't count on the Red Carpet honoring anything they tell you over the phone. You get what you get when you arrive. We paid full price for a main floor room with wallpaper peeling off the walls and a view of the parking lot. The General Manager could care less about our concerns. Yvonne was working the next morning and she was confrontational and unprofessional. We will never stay at the Red Carpet again and we are telling our friends and family of our unfortunate experience. On a happier note, other than the Red Carpet... we had a fabulous time in Banff celebrating our 15 year anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Staid here for one night. The rooms were nice, a little on the small side, clean and comfortable. Easy walking distance to downtown. The free breakfast was plentiful, though the eating area was not quite big enough to accommodate the qty of guests looking to eat. Staff were friendly, I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.