We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 hotels in Banff
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had read the reviews and hoped that they were just exaggerated negative reviews, but I have to say that they were mostly right. The hotel is very average, rather grubby and outdated, raggedy carpets, old furniture and looks like it hasn't been renovated since the early 1980s.
Worse experience involved us being checked into a room that someone else was already occupying. I suppose as mistake is a mistake but overall the apology was slightly lacking for the lapse in security.
Breakfast was OK.
For the price I would have expected more but that is probably symptomatic for the area we were in as everything seemed expensive.
Recommended only if there is nothing else in town

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    117
    85
    26
    14
See reviews for
53
133
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ugh where do I begin? I know its banff, but for the prices this hotel charges I'd rather sleep in a tent. It was super grubby and dingy in the common areas. The room seemed clean but nothing was working. Our tv was not functioning, nor was our AC unit.
It was the end of the ski season so it was really noisy. The parking lot was full or truck revving jerks and the partiers next door kept us up most of the night. And since the AC Didn't work we had nothing to drown it the noise. Not even ear plugs did the job. We did call downstairs at 3 AM and they did ock on the drunks door, but they were only quiet for a few mins.
Breakfast was the bare minimum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do apologize for your experience and are making great strides to improve the areas listed.

I'm happy to report that with regard to our flat screen tv's we are in the process of switching to digital HD, as well as switching out any outdated legacy equipment. With regard to our common areas we are currently renovating our hallways which should be complete Fall 2013.

Thanks for your feedback,

Jeff Irwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent 10 nights at the Red Carpet Inn in Banff. Service was excellent and the amenities provided were better than some supposedly better class hotels. Breakfast was great with a good choice of food.
We had a problem with noisey neighbours one night and the hotel were most apologetic and moved us straight away and offered compensation towards a meal.
Had a fantastic stay there and would dediniely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for ten days, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious and well equipped. Breakfast can be crowed but you can take it up to your room. The views from almost all rooms are spectacular! For the price you can't get better!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We thank-you for your kind review. It was wonderful to have you as our guests.

Warm Regards,

Jeff Irwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, null, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

the room was very big and clean.


the breakfast was very good with a big selection.

a walking distance from the main streets with all th stores and restaurants,
have a shuttle service to the ski sites.

there's a bus stop for attractions such as the hot pools just outside of the hotel door.

most of the staff were very friendly, though i asked some quetions about an attraction once and got wrong info from one of the workers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our room was clean, and the facilities available were more than adequate. The wifi internet was very fast, much faster than in more expensive hotels.The only downside was the rather meagre selection for breakfast, no yogurt or fruits. Service was good. Our neighbours were noisy but that is hardly the fault of the inn. Will consider coming back on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The rooms were clean and spacious. All the equipment you would expect. Breakfast was a self service and was fine. Lots of parking and only a short walk from the centre of Banff. It is ideal for a short stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.