We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Alberta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here one night and found it very clean and comfortable. The property is dated, but very well upkept. Staff were friendly and let me check in early which was awesome, free breakfast was basic, but what do you expect - it's free. In comparison with the Inns of Banff (where I stayed the week previous) it is LEAPS and BOUNDS better!!! For a budget choice in Banff, it doesn't get better than this! Thanks Red Carpet Inn!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    128
    95
    29
    16
See reviews for
62
148
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My girl friend and I slept here for three days. A very good place! The hotel/room was a bit basic, but it is clean. We paid 80 dollars per night for a room with a king size bed (before the holiday season). The staff is friendly, helpful and knows enough about Banff (5-10 min walk from the main street). The breakfast is basic (cereals, toast, juice, coffee, etc), but it is ok. There is enough parking space at the back of the hotel. We would sleep here again next time!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked our rooms at a rate of $150.00 per night over New Years. We never received a confirmation email, but we had a verbal confirmation of our reservation. After we checked out, we later discovered that we were overcharged for our rooms. When we called to rectify the situation, we were told that since they failed to produce a confirmation email or number, that we have no "evidence" and therefore couldn't get a refund on the overpaid amount. I was also informed that rate disputes happen every weekend, making me wonder how many others experienced this. The rooms were nothing special,cdefinitely not worth the extra $100.00 over the weekend. We rarely got parking, and had to park in nearby residential and walk. We will probably never stay here again, ever after being offered a discount for our next visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a confirmation email for "evidence"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick L, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
At The Red Carpet Inn we greatly value our customers and therefore must apologize for any confusion which happened during our check in process. As mentioned over the phone all guests are shown the rate at check-in, then after we obtain a signature agreeing to the rate, a pre-authorization is taken on the guest's credit card. At checkout after confirming the rate a second time, a charge is put through on card. If you have any further questions or concerns I highly suggest you contact our General Manager at Gm@banffredcarpet.com. As discussed over the phone, we would love to have you stay with us again at a discounted rate.

Nick Law
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

For the first time travelling, our room was upgaded from a 2x Queen beds to 3x Queens for the four of us. This was to accommodate arrangements by other guests, but we're not complaining. The room was very spacious and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. There was a coffee maker, bathroom amenities, free wifi, fridge and a temperamental safe. No iron. The bathroom was big, one of a few that had a ventilation fan. Though very basic, breakfast was included, which was nice. They had juices, coffee, cereal, bread, jams, margarine, apples and oranges. There was a small car park at the back, which we used, and also an underground one. The inn provides trolleys so guests can carry their luggage up the elevator and to their room in one go- we found this very handy. Unfortunately, our air conditioning unit wasn't working, so it felt hot in the room after coming back from a day of sightseeing. Walking distance to the shops was pretty good- definitely manageable and no more than 10mins or so. Would stay here again for something more affordable in Banff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Was our first time in Banff, and we were travelling with a dog, this was a great choice for us (the price/the location)... It looks great from the outside, so close to "downtown" shopping/eating area, and the underground parking was a huge bonus. The room was very clean and pretty, the bed and all the pillows were SO comfortable, the washroom did its job! Definitely recommend this place. Felt like home. Only thing I would have to suggest is having a microwave in the room (as staying in a hotel, you're often eating out a lot and sometimes have leftovers.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick L, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Thanks for your review we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy your time in Banff.
The hotel does have a microwave available for use in the breakfast room so feel free to use that next time sorry if you were not informed!
We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My bf and i stayed here Dec 20-21(just an over nighter). It IS a pet friendly hotel, i think we had a $10 pet charge, which is super cheap considering the other hotels (mount royal) chargea $25 fee for the pets.

i was SO appreciative of the staff here at the red carpet inn! The girl at the front desk ( i wanna say angela?? im sorry if it isnt right.. i meant to ask you your name for this exact reason!!) But the girl was incredible. She informed us that we are allowed to leave our little chihuahua luck in the room while we went and grabbed a bite to eat. And if we were more than 2 hrs, she would do a walk by and if she noticed any barking, that she would go into the room(with your permission- which we gave) and take the dog, see if she needed to go out side, and then out to the front desk to hang out with her. Which i loved. I knew lucy (our chihuahua) might get nervous or anxious, and would eventually start to whimper, whine and bark. When we got back from a great biyte to eat at st.james gate, there was our lucy, hanging out and LOVINGGGG that she didnt have to stay in the room!

the bed was comfy, the shower did its job, it was a great over nighter, thank you!! we will be back!

Room Tip: Head to St. James Gate Irish Pub for great service, great irish food and if youre lucky like we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staff were friendly. They were also accommodating and helpful. Great location. Easy walk to centre of town. I would definitely book again. It may not have had a swimming pool but the staff assured us we could use the sister hotel's swimming pool for free which was right next door. The hot tub in the premises was enough for us. It was very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.