We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud Furnace?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Inn to your Saves list
Banff Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
St Albert
1 review
“Loud Furnace?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The only problem was a very loud make-up air furnace outside our room window which was very loud and you could feel the vibration from this unit while standing on the floor. This ran until about 4 AM and then started up again at about 6 AM. Unhappy wife unhappy life. I would say there is something unbalanced in this unit that needs repair. I will not stay there again. I have not received my invoice by e-mail yet as promised. I believe the room number was 344.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    126
    55
    21
    17
See reviews for
57
112
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

PROs: First impressions, the lobby was efficient and the staff were knowledgeable and personable. The lobby wasn't busy and it was easy to get around. They also have basement parking exclusively for guests. The hotel's location is also good as it is just walking distance to the centre street but far enough that you don't get too much foot traffic. I liked the cleanliness of the room, although it could be refurbished. The room (227) area was ample. The bathroom was well-maintained and they provided an empty mini-fridge and a coffee machine (with two ground coffee packs and beverage condiments). Overall, I think it's a good, mid-prized option.

CONs: The rooms need to be updated and refurbished. While the room was clean, the carpet is in dire need of replacing. One other improvement I'd like to suggest is that the breakfast needs to be a couple of degrees more upscale. It just hits the minimum level of a continental breakfast. It should be better presented and have a bit more variety and content. While it's still better than other hotel/lodges, I've experienced in Banff, I feel like the price range should include a better breakfast option. As for facilities, they have a whirlpool and a sauna section. But the drawback is that is adjacent to the hotel restaurant and some of the diners can look into a semi-transparent glass window. So no privacy, if you're into trying out the facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that is on the second or third floor. They have some rooms on the ground/fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Front Desk staff was real good. Rooms were decent - clean - not updated compared to most. Travelled with a group - not group friendly. Would stay there again an an individual - never again with a group.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our trip to Banff was a last minute decision, so finding a place with 3 queen sized beds was a definite challenge. The only room left in the entire town to meet our needs was the Banff Inn, which luckily was within walking distance of downtown The room was clean, had a great view and even had a loft area, which worked out perfectly for us all! Would return again!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay! We will definitely stay here again. Close to everything and great value! We couldn't get the complimentary wifi to work but other than that, everything was great. Friendly staff at the desk.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was close to the main road but relatively very quiet. The room was spacious and clean. Could improve on the of the room by reaarranging the furniture so that it would be more inviting. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really surprised actually at the quality of this hotel for the price we payed. Our room had a great view, was very close to downtown, and the fireplace was an amazing and unexpected suprise. We loved it very much and spent more time there than we had anticipated. I would recommend this place to anyone. Only real bad thing about it that I gave it four stars for was the breakfast was horrible and basic. We took one look at it, and left to go buy breakfast. Most of the other hotels in the area had MUCH better ones, its something they need to address.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.